Weather Forecast


Final Chippewa County commissioner election results reported

WILLMAR - After a technical problem prevented final primary election results from being reported Tuesday night in one of two Chippewa County commissioner district races, the final tally this morning has identified the top candidates who will face each other in the Nov. 6 general election.

In District 1, where five candidates were running for the seat currently held by Kenneth Koenen, who did not file for re-election, the top vote-getters were Galen Rud of Montevideo and Matt Gilbertson of Watson.

Rud had 178 votes and Gilbertson had 158.

Dave Lauritsen had 110, Stan Harms had 53 and Douglas Kluver had 14 votes.

In District 3, incumbent Dennis Anderson of Montevideo and David Nordaune, of Granite Falls will be on the ballot in November.

Nordaune had 192 votes and Anderson had 123.

Dustin Shourds, of Montevideo, had 55 votes.

Auditor Jon Clauson said a problem with the electronic upload of information from the county to the Secretary of State's office that prevented votes from the last two precinct in District 3 from being posted on the state's website.

The information was entered manually this morning.

Clauson said problem happened somewhere between the county and state systems and that the state will have to fix the issue between now and Nov. 6.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for more than 30 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750