Weather Forecast


Former police chief elected to Atwater city council

ATWATER -- Atwater City Councilman Shane Hagstrom and former Atwater Police Chief Reed Schmit were elected to the Atwater City Council from a field of five candidates.

In unofficial results, Hagstrom was the top vote-getter with 280 votes.

Schmidt garnered the next highest total with 269 votes.

Dale Tagtow had 252 votes and Jerry Spencer had 109 votes. Both Tagtow and Spencer had served on the city council in the past.

The fifth candidate was Mary Schmidt, who had 69 votes.

Hagstrom, 31, is a teacher at Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City School Board who has served on the Atwater City Council for eight years.

Schmidt, 62, who retired from police duty this summer, made his first jump into politics, as did his wife, Mary Schmidt, who also tossed her hat into the ring.

Councilman Scott Bjornson did not seek re-election this year.

Mayor Mark Olson ran unopposed.

Carolyn Lange

A reporter for more than 30 years, Carolyn Lange covers regional news with the West Central Tribune.

(320) 894-9750