Weather Forecast


Lake Lillian, Minn., voters await word on next mayor

LAKE LILLIAN -- The next mayor of Lake Lillian could be Kenneth Wittman, if he accepts the job.

With no candidates filing for the mayor's position, Wittman was the top vote-getter with 13 write-in votes. Wittman had not sought the office, and told the city he was undecided about accepting the post, according to City Clerk Susan Jungclaus.

He is currently a City Council member.

If he does not accept the post, the City Council must appoint a council member to serve as mayor. It would then also need to appoint someone to the City Council position.

Current Mayor Ross Wittman had not sought re-election.

There were write-in votes for 11 people.

The results:

Kenneth Wittman 13

Donnavon Garberich 12

Gary Kaiser 10

Ross Wittman 6

Jason Wittman 5

Kristine Kaiser 5

Josh Gilberts 3

Wendy Lund 2

Delmar Douma 2

Donna Mae Scott 1

Margaret Jungclaus 1

Tom Cherveny

Tom Cherveny is a regional and outdoor reporter with the West Central Tribune in Willmar, MN.

(320) 214-4335