Weather Forecast


Princess Kay finalists named

ST. JOSEPH -- Finalists for the 2011 title of Princess Kay of the Milky Way were named Sunday.

The 12 young women from dairy farm backgrounds were selected at the conclusion of a three-day event for county dairy princesses held in St. Joseph. Each of the 12 will be sculpted in butter during the 2011 Minnesota State Fair.

Princess Kay is crowned each year the night before the State Fair opens.

According to a news release, for the first time in the contest's 58-year history, two sisters are among the finalists. They are April Johnson, 21, and Chelsey Johnson, 19, from Cottonwood County.

Other finalists include: Erin Daninger, 19, from Washington County; Chaneen Haler, 18, from Carver County; Jennifer Janak, 19, from Dakota County; Stephanie Kasper, 19, from Steele County; Emily Krekelberg, 20, from Le Sueur County; Emma Motl, 19, from Todd County; Janet Oelfke, 19, from Sibley County; Kelsey Sellner, 19, from Brown County; Theresa Twohey, 20, from Olmsted County; and Mary Zahurones, 17, from Morrison County.

Princess Kay serves as the official goodwill ambassador for the state's dairy farmers, and makes appearances to help explain their commitment to taking care of the animals and resources while providing wholesome, nutritious and affordable dairy products.

Midwest Dairy Association manages the program.