Weather Forecast


Area township election results

Townships held elections and conducted annual meetings Tuesday to set levies for 2014.

The results of some of those meetings were reported in Wednesday’s edition of the West Central Tribune.

The following additional results from townships in Kandiyohi County were submitted to the Tribune by township officials:

Burbank Township

Missy Jakobson was newly elected to the position of treasurer and Larry Hanson was newly elected to the position of supervisor in Burbank Township.

Edwards Township

Steve Boonstra was re-elected supervisor and Tim Smith was re-elected treasurer.

Both candidates received nine votes.

The budget levy in Edwards Township was increased by $5,000 to $100,000.

New London Township

Dave Becker was re-elected supervisor for a three-year term and Bernadine Schaegerl was re-elected treasurer for a two-year term.

During the New London Township annual meeting, residents approved a total levy of $315,000, which is a decrease of $25,000 from the 2013 levy.

The levy includes a general fund levy of $85,000; road and bridge levy of $185,000; and a fire fund levy of $45,000.

Approval was also given to allocate $10,500 for recreational services with New London-Spicer Community Education.

St. Johns Township

Dennis Bredeson was re-elected as supervisor for a three year term. Mel Schwartz will be re-appointed as treasurer and Norma Blom will be re-appointed as clerk.

Residents of St. Johns Township approved a 2014 levy of $153,000.