Weather Forecast


Benson/KMS fourth in state tennis

MINNEAPOLIS -- First Breck and then Holy Family Catholic dished it out to Benson/Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg on the second day of the Class A boys tennis tournament.

The Mustangs blanked BKMS 7-0 in the semifinals. The third-place match ended up a 6-1 loss.

Breck went on to win the tournament by beating Rochester Lourdes 6-1 on Wednesday at the Reed Sweatt Family Tennis Center.

Benson/KMS finished 21-4.

As usual, four private and parochial schools dominated the fieldm finishing a combined 9-3. The four public schools were a combined 2-8.

No public school has won a Class A crown since Staples-Motley won its second straight in 1991 (Litchfield won the 1989 Class A title).

Breck didn't lose a set in the semifinal win with Benson/KMS.

Against the HFC Fire, from Victoria, Benson/KMS forced all three doubles matches to three sets. Ahren Bachman-Brandon Edlund got the point at 2-doubles winning 6-3, 1-6, 6-3.

The Section 3A champions won their 21st match on Wednesday defeating Worthington 7-0 in the quarterfinals.

Individual singles and doubles champions will be decided today and Friday.


Breck 7, Benson/KMS 0


(1) Will Oberrender, Bre, def. Ben Murphy 6-0, 6-0 (2) Myles Tang, Brk, def. Steven James 6-2, 6-1 (3) Eric Chien, Bre, def. Matt Hagestuen 6-0, 6-0 (4) Felix Mettke, Bre, def. Ethan Ratliff-Crain 6-2, 6-0


(1) Andrew Engel-Dan Carpenter, Bre, def. William Johnson-Luke Widseth 6-0, 6-2 (2) Brenham Wong-Grant Bemis, Bre, def. Ahren Bachman-Brandon Edlund 6-2, 6-3 (3) Trotter Oberrender-Max Berman, Bre, def. Michael Goulet-Peter Lindblad 6-1, 6-0

Third place

Holy Family Catholic 6, Benson/KMS 1


(1) Sam Pluff, HFC, def. Ben Murphy 6-3, 6-3 (2) Taylor Curtis, HFC, def. Steven James 6-1, 6-0 (3) Connor Oberle, HFC, def. Matt Hagestuen 6-1, 6-3 (4) Tyler Smith, HFC, def. Ethan Ratliff-Crain 6-2, 3-6, 6-1


(1) Matt Makis-Ryan Menden, HFC, def. William Johnson-Luke Widseth 4-6, 6-3, 6-4 (2) Ahren Bachman-Brandon Edlund, BKMS, def. Remington Riere-Dave Forbes 6-3, 1-6, 6-3 (3) Max Henkel-Erik Elton, HFC, def. Michael Goulet-Peter Lindblad 4-6, 6-1,6-1