Weather Forecast


Minn. senators choose Senjem as leader

ROSEVILLE, Minn. -- Minnesota state Sen. Dave Senjem of Rochester makes a return as Senate Republican leader after an 11-hour meeting today.

Senjem served as minority leader until last year, when Republicans won the Senate majority for the first time in 38 years.

The Senate Republican caucus also elected Sens. Roger Chamberlain of Lino Lakes, Paul Gazelka of Brainerd, Ted Lillie of Lake Elmo and Claire Robling of Jordan as assistant Senate majority leaders.

Senators were quiet about what went on behind closed doors. They started deliberating at 9 a.m. in a Roseville hotel and continued well after dark, only taking brief breaks but not revealing what was going on in private.

Don Davis
Don Davis has been the Forum Communications Minnesota Capitol Bureau chief since 2001, covering state government and politics for two dozen newspapers in the state. Don also blogs at Capital Chatter on Areavoices.