Weather Forecast


KMS wrestlers knock off top-ranked Canby, 40-22

CANBY -- Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg senior Brad Kneisl recorded the 100th pin of his career and the Fighting Saints went on to defeat Canby 40-22 in a Camden Conference wrestling match on Thursday.

Kneisl pinned Travis Longhenry with one second left in the opening period at 215 pounds to clinch the match for the Fighting Saints.

Out of the lineup since breaking his thumb on Dec. 19, KMS 130-pounder Stuart Johnson provided a pin in his return that gave KMS a spark.

"That really was a key win for us," said KMS coach Wes Haglund. "His first match back and he gets a pin. That really fired us up."

KMS was ranked No. 2 by The Guillotine in Class A, while Canby was the top-ranked team.

KMS also beat Canby 33-24 last year during the regular season, but lost to the Lancers 39-18 in the Section 3A championship.

Besides Johnson and Kneisl, Kurt Timmons at 103 pounds, Aaron Doraska at 140 and Kevin Steinhaus at 160 also had pins for KMS.

Canby failed to record a pin.

"That was huge," said KMS coach Wes Haglund. "Not giving up a pin against a team like Canby is really big."

Canby appeared headed toward a pin when Andrew Fokken scored back points on Trevor Mahlum at 152 pounds. But Mahlum bridged for 1:27 and actually rallied to take a lead before eventually losing 7-6 on a last-second reveral.

"He really showed us something there," Haglund said about Mahlum. "He showed the kids that we're not going to just give up."

After Timmons' pin to start the match, KMS lost three straight decisions to fall behind 9-6 before Johnson's pin.

Joel Bauman at 189 pounds won by a major decision for KMS. Aaron Zimmer at 145 and Mitch Hagen at 171 each won by decision.

KMS 40, Canby 22

103: Kurt Timmons, K, pin Nick Stoks :51

112: Ted Birckes, C, dec. Jordon Rothers 8-7

119: Jake Long, C, dec Klinton VanHeuveln 4-2

125: Cedrick Citrowske, C, dec Joey Paulson 4-3

130: Stuart Johnson, K, pin Kris Kaddatz 1:45

135: Brett Citrowske, C, won by forfeit

140: Aaron Doraska, K, pin Matt Jelen :55

145: Aaron Zimmer, K, dec Tyler Bear 6-3

152: Andrew Fokken, C, dec Trevor Mahlum 7-6

160: Kevin Steinhaus, K, pin Brandon Garber 1:35

171: Mitch Hagen, K, dec Brock Claeys 12-5

189: Joel Bauman, K, maj Ethan Kockelman 17-6

215: Brad Kneisl, K, pin Travis Longhenry 1:59

285: Brad Wollum, C, maj Adam Wentzel 12-3