Weather Forecast


Wrestling: DB/LQPV near 3AA-North title

Jake Bothun of Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley grabs Eli Louwagie of Marshall/Lakeview during their 140-pound match Tuesday at Montevideo. Tribune photo by T.J. Bartelt

MONTEVIDEO -- Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley made quick work of Marshall/Lakeview Tuesday, upending the Tigers 53-13 in the quarterfinals of the Section 3AA tourney.

DB/LQPV will meet Wabasso, 32-18 winners over Tracy-Milroy-Balaton, on Friday at 6 p.m. in the North sub-section title in Marshall. The final is also Friday.

Marshall clubbed Montevideo 48-21 in the first round.

Marshall 48, Montevideo 21

Marshall won the first five matches to take an early 24-0 lead.

Montevideo then got decisions from Josh Anderson at 135 and Jesse Mijares at 140 to end Marshall's win streak. The Thunder Hawks later got wins from Isaac Sulflow at 152, Garrett Norby at 189 and Jordan Solting at 285.

103: Brett Breczinski, Mr, dec Austin Hiepler 10-8

112: Caleb Citrowske, Mr, won by forfeit

119: Neil Citrowske, Mr, pin Mitch Kwilinski 1:12

125: Derek Varpness, Mr, dec Tim Macziewski 10-5

130: J.D. Westberg, Mr, pin Mason Kwilinski 2:46

135: Josh Anderson, Mn, dec Todd Hennen 6-2

140: Jesse Mijares, Mn, dec Eli Louwagie 11-5

145: Campbell Hofstetter, Mr, pin Thomas Stoeckman 1:24

152: Isaac Sulflow, Mn, dec Matt Versaevel 6-2

160: Brett Crecelius, Mr, won by forfeit

171: Stephen Womack, Mr, won by forfeit

189: Garrett Norby, Mn, won by defaut over Jarrod Holland

215: Garrett Dubbeldee, Mr, pin Jordan Welling 5:13

285: Jordan Solting, Mn, pin Austin Nath 2:42

DB/LQPV 53, Marshall 13

The two squads traded a pin and decision in the first four matches before Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley rolled off five straight wins to take a 32-9 lead.

John Weeding at 103 pounds, Sam Haas at 130, Jake Bothun at 140 and Cody Weeding at 171 all earned pins for Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley.

Ryan Swenson at 135 and Matt Brehmer at 152 both won with major decisions while Dylan Croatt at 112, Nate Stottler at 145 and Joe Hutt at 215 won decisions for Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley.

103: John Weeding, D, pin Brett Breczinski 1:18

112: Dylan Croatt, D, dec Caleb Citrowske 9-2

119: Neil Citrowske, M, pin Boe Stensrud 5:41

125: Derek Varpness, M, dec Colton Kanstrup 6-1

130: Sam Haas, D, pin J.D. Westberg 2:48

135: Ryan Swenson, D, maj Todd Hennen 19-7

140: Jake Bothun, D, pin Eli Louwagie 2:59

145: Nate Stottler, D, dec Campbell Hofstetter 3-1

152: Matt Brehmer, D, maj Matt Versaevel 11-3

160: Brett Crecelius, M, maj Jack Massee 10-1

171: Cody Weeding, D, pin Stephen Womack 3:04

189: Jared Holland, M, won by default over Zac Zinda

215: Joe Hutt, D, dec Garrett Dubbeldee 4-2

285: Christian Olson, D, pin Austin Nath :50