Weather Forecast


42 area matmen heading to state

ST. PAUL -- Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg and Yellow Medicine East qualified five wrestlers each to the individual portion of the state wrestling tournament March 4-7 at Xcel Energy Center.

The Tribune coverage area will be represented by 42 individual wrestlers and two teams.

Two-time defending state champion Kevin Steinhaus of KMS will be joined by teammates Aaron Zimmer, Mitchell Hagen, Joel Bauman and Brad Kneisl.

KMS also qualified for the Class A team tournament, as did Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City.

Yellow Medicine East is sending Evan Knudson, Austen Cole, Dylan Hoffman, Casey Field and Evan Stock.

New London-Spicer, Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley, Benson and Minnewaska Area will have four wrestlers each competing at state.

ACGC, BOLD and Paynesville will be represented by three wrestlers each, Litchfield and MACCRAY will send two apiece and Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa, Montevideo and Redwood Valley qualified one each.

The complete list of qualifiers and section matches is on Page B-4.