Weather Forecast


Former KMS coach Nelson to be inducted into Wrestling Hall

Former Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg wrestling coach Lynden Nelson is one of seven people that will be inducted into the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association Hall of Fame April 4 at the Willmar Holiday Inn Convention Center.

Nelson compiled an impressive 254-53-3 record in 25 years as KMS coach. Current KMS coaches Wes Haglund and Craig Johnson, who have the Fighting Saints in the Class A final this year, wrestled for Nelson and were later assistant coaches under him.

Nelson was named the Two Twelve Conference Coach of the Year in 1987 and '88 and was Region 3A Coach of the Year in 1987 when his team lost in the final to eventual state champion Canby. Nelson guided numerous individuals to state and had many of those medal, including 1990 state champion Scott Wilts.

"I was flabbergasted when they told me the news," said Nelson, by telephone Thursday afternoon while en route to the state tournament in St. Paul. "I had a buddy up north tell me, 'I thought they only gave those things to dead people?' I had to pinch myself this morning. It's really an honor."

Nelson graduated in 1956 from Glenwood High School, compiling a 45-10 record in three years on the varsity wrestling team. He attended the University of Minnesota-Morris where he played football and wrestled.

Nelson retired from coaching in 1993.

Besides Nelson, Dennis Koslowski, Ron Ankeny, James Baker, Ronald Cram, Ed Ferkingstad and Mike Houck will also be inducted into the MWCA Hall of Fame.