Weather Forecast


Wrestling: NLS in Final 4 of 6AA

NEW LONDON -- Litchfield roughed up Sartell 63-12 in the first round of the Section 6AA playoffs, but the Dragons then fell 57-13 to New London-Spicer in the quarterfinals on Tuesday.

Litchfield posted seven pins against Sartell and led 27-0 before the Sabres would pick up their first win.

The first three wins for NLS against Litchfield were pins as the Wildcats rolled into Friday's final round hosted by Little Falls.

NLS will face Dassel-Cokato at 6 p.m. Friday in the semifinals. The championship match will follow at 7:30 p.m.

First Round

Litchfield 63, Sartell 12

Ryan Anderson at 103 pounds, Tyler Jones at 112, Rylan Reiner at 119 and Devan Nelson at 125 all had pins to open the match for Litchfield.

Nick Buschette at 140, Nathan King at 145 and Dan Cox at 152 would also collect pins later on for the Dragons.

103: Ryan Anderson, L, pin Drew Beinusa 3:39

112: Tyler Jones, Lit, pin Zach Motschke 1:31

119: Rylan Reiner, L, pin Matt Suppan 1:06

125: Devan Nelson, Lit, pin Kyle Karlolus 3:26

130: Kyle Ballard, Lit, dec Josh Halicke 4-2

135: Daniel Vitale, S, dec Austin Jones 7-6

140: Nick Buschette, L, pin Zach Pederson 2:30

145: Nathan King, L, pin Jed Anderson 1:32

152: Dan Cox, Lit, pin Collin Wervery 2:11

160: Brian Malepsy, L, won by forfeit

171: Brady Goebel, S, dec Walker Kaping 3-0

189: Max Kaping, L, won by forfeit

215: Kody Kalkbrenner, L, won by forfeit

285: Tyler Tabatt, S, pin Nathan Olson 5:07


NLS 57, Litchfield 13

Ben Henle at 103 pounds, Logan Brink at 119, Chase Austvold at 125, Dylan Hanson at 135, Shawn Hatlestad at 140, David Nething at 145, John Nething at 160 and Chris Pfau at 215 all notched falls for the Wildcats.

103: Ben Henle, N, pin Ryan Anderson 3:14

112: Tyler Jones, L, dec Treyton Austvold 3-1

119: Logan Brink, N, pin Dylan Reiner :51

125: Chase Austvold, N, pin Devan Nelson 1:26

130: Kyle Ballard, L, dec Elliot Eckhoff 12-5

135: Dylan Hanson, N, pin Austin Jones 1:40

140: Shawn Hatlestad, N, pin Nick Buschette :38

145: David Nething, N, pin Nathan King 3:21

152: Dan Cox, L, maj Cody Jakobson 9-1

160: John Nething, N, tcfl Brian Malepsy 19-4

171: Kyle Cappelen, N, maj Walter Kaping 8-0

189: Kody Kalkbrenner, L, dec Tom Duscher 10-4

215: Chris Pfau, N, pin Nathan Olson :55

285: Zach Borka, N, won by forfeit