Weather Forecast


Prep Tennis: Eight from area advance in 6A

ST. JOSEPH -- Eight area tennis players advanced to the semifinals of the Section 6A boys tennis tournament with two wins each Thursday.

Getting to the second day, held again at the College of St. Benedict, are Ethan Ratliff-Crain of Benson/KMS and Alex Wiegmann of New London-Spicer in singles. Doubles players advancing are Luke Widseth and Ben Murphy of Benson/KMS, Lars Meisner and Tanner Blair of Minnewaska, and Dylan Hoffman and Ben Peters, also from Minnewaksa.

Action resumes at 10 a.m. in both singles and doubles. The championship and third-place matches are scheduled to start at noon.

Individual champions and runners-up will advance to the state Class A boys tennis tournament June 8-11 at Reed Sweatt Family Tennis Center in Minneapolis.


FIRST ROUND: Brandon Edlund, BKMS, def. Brandon Stevens, Fol, 6-0, 6-4 ... Tanner Holten, Min, def. Jeremy Welters, LPGE, 6-2, 6-1 ... Mark Shirley, SCC, def. Jackson Moore, Min, 6-0, 6-1 ... George Kueppers, NLS, def. Roger Meade, LPGE, 6-2, 6-3

QUARTERFINALS: Jordan Otto, SCC, def. Edlund, 6-1, 6-2 ... Ethan Ratliff-Crain, BKMS, def. Holten 6-3, 6-3 ... Alex Wiegmann, NLS, def. Shirley 7-5, 6-3 ... Nick Jansen, Fol, def. Kueppers, 6-0, 6-0

SEMIFINALS: Otto vs. Ratliff-Crain ... Wiegmann vs. Jansen


FIRST ROUND: Bradi Hanes-Walker Zabloski, Fol, def. Jed Jansen-Brandon Roering, LPGE, 6-4, 6-4 ... Lars Meisner-Tanner Blair, Min, def. Nic Magnuson-Josh Treptau, NLS, 6-4, 6-3 ... Steven Dotzler-Ben Hageman, Fol, def. Spencer Moller-Seth Nelson, NLS, 6-0, 6-2 ... Mark Magelssen-Jared Buemer, SCC, def. Lars Hering-Mike Goulet, BKMS, 6-4, 6-3

QUARTERFINALS: Luke Widseth-Ben Murphy, BKMS, def. B. Hanes-W. Zabloski, 6-4, 6-4 ... Meisner-Blair def. Jordan Buemer-Erik Franke, SCC, 6-4, 6-3 ... Dotzler-Hageman def. Cody Warner-Zach Pesta, LPGE, 3-6, 6-2, 6-2 ... Dylan Hoffman-Ben Peters, Min, def. Magelssen-Buemer 6-1, 6-1

SEMIFINALS: Widseth-Murphy vs. Meisner-Blair ... Dotzler-Hageman vs. Hoffman-Peters