Weather Forecast


Jacobson wins Stroke Play Championship again

Andy Jacobson chops his way out of the weeds after his pin-high drive off the No. 10 tee rolled down the bank above Hawk Creek on Sunday at Eagle Creek Golf Club. He settled for a bogey, but still won the Eagle Creek Stroke Play Championship by three strokes. <b>Rand Middleton</b>

WILLMAR -- For just a moment, Andy Jacobson looked vulnerable at the 27-hole Eagle Creek Stroke Play Championship on Sunday.

After his drive rolled into heavy weeds, but pin high on the 10th hole, Jacobson "chunked" two recovery shots in a row on the first hole of the final nine, looking very much like an every-day 18-handicapper.

But he then drilled his fourth shot from off the green to within inches of making an undeserved par and settled for bogey. He played the next eight holes at even par to finish with a 37 and a one-under par 107 to win by three strokes.

Chad Pendill shot 36 on the final nine in the same foursome with Jacobson but could gain only one stroke on the 31-year-old insurance man, who also won this contest a year ago. Pendill, a Montana native who has lived here since 1995, finished at 110.

Bart Bradford and Micah Gorans, also in the final foursome with Jacobson and Pendill, each came in at 114.

Gorans, the club's match-play champion, got off to a ragged start by shooting 42 in the early afternoon. But he revived his game on the second nine with an eagle- birdie-par-birdie start. However, the second time he played No. 10, where he had a made a two only three hours before, he lost his drive in the low thicket in the back-left of the green and ended up with a six.

Norm Strehlow won his second senior title of the summer. The Lakeland champ fired 38-38-76 to edge Mark Suebeck (40-38-78) by two strokes.

The Ladies championship again was a tight dual between Jean Larson and Lori Jacobson. Both struggled on the front, but were sharp on the old back nine. With five holes to go, it was even. They matched pars the next four holes. Larson pared the 18th too, but Jacobson took a bogey and that let Larson slip away with the title with an 83 to Jacobson's 84 after both shot 38 coming in.

Larry Peart won the Super Seniors with a round of 77 in the near-perfect weather.

Men's Championship

(1) Andy Jacobson 36-34-107 (2) Chad Pendill 37-37-36-110 (3) tie, Bart Bradford 39-38-37-114; Micah Gorans 42-33-39-114 (5) Chuck Weiler 41-38-36-115 (6) Jeff Asche 41-41-37-119 (7) Scott Carruthers 42-39-40-121 (8) Russ Johnson 39-40-43-122 (9) tie, Clark Vllan 41-43-40-124; Sam Warzecha 41-41-42-124 (11) Tom Anderson 44-41-40-125 (12) Nathan Boie 43-39-44-126


SENIORS - (1) Norm Strehlow 38-38-76 (2) Mark Suedbeck 40-38-78 (3) Tom Dooley 40-41-81 (4) Tom Wodash 41-41-82 (5) Chris Meinert 39-45-84 (6) Dave Wentzell 44-41-85 (7) Howie Swift 46-40-86 (8) Mac Habicht 44-43-87 (9) Neil Tagawa 46-46-92

SUPER SENIORS - (1) Larry Peart 39-38-77 (2) Dan Ridler 40-41-81

FIRST FLIGHT - (1) Todd Ahrenholz 39-39-78 (2) Doug Allen 41-45-86 (3) Bob Mathiasen 44-43-87 (4) All Kennard 46-50-96

SECOND FLIGHT- (1) John Wodash 44-45-89 (2) Don Alter 50-47-97 (3) Gary Duininck 52-50-102

Women's Championship

Jean Larson 45-38-83 (2) Lori Jacobson 46-38-84


First - (1) Pam Meinert 49-46-95 (2) Cherris Duininck 49-51-100

Rand Middleton
Tribune photographer/videographer. Began working in radio and at weekly newspaper in Munising, Michigan, in 1972. Started parttime at West Central Daily Tribune Sept. 1974. Fulltime news/sports beginning Feb. 1979. Married to Tribune news clerk Donna (Miller) Middleton, formerly of Kerkhoven. 2 grown children. 
(320) 214-4334