Weather Forecast


Marshall Legion edges New London-Spicer

SPICER -- Ty Alcorn allowed only two hits over 8Xc innings and Marshall rapped a pair of run-scoring triples en route to beating New London-Spicer 4-3 in a Legion baseball regular-season finale on Monday.

The District 7, Division I playoffs begin on Friday in Willmar. Litchfield and Willmar meet at 10 a.m. and New London-Spicer and Alexandria play at 1 p.m.. The losers play at 7 p.m. Friday and the winners play on Saturday in Marshall.

Alcorn walked two and struck out five. Only one of the three runs off him was earned. Andrew Mathiowetz struck out the final batter to end the game and earn the save.

Nathan Schnaible drove in a run for Marshall with a triple in the third inning and Nathan Schaeffer tripled in a run in the sixth.

Jack Schwaegerl and Jeremy Hinkemeyer had the hits for New London-Spicer.

Shawn Hatlestad went the distance in absorbing the loss. He allowed seven hits and one earned run, while walking two and striking out two.

Marshall 4, NL-Spicer 3

Marshall 102 001 000 -- 4 7 2

NL-Spicer 000 200 010 -- 3 2 2

HITTING - Marshall: Ben Saunders 1-for-4; Nathan Schnaible 1-for-4, 3b, 2 runs, rbi; Andrew Larson 1-for-3; Andrew Mathiowetz 1-for-4; Aaron Antony 1-for-4; Nathan Schaeffer 1-for-4, 3b, rbi; Spencer Buss 1-for-3 ... New London-Spicer: Jack Schwaegerl 1-for-3; Jeremy Hinkemeyer 1-for-1

PITCHING (ip-h-r-er-bb-so) -- Marshall: Ty Alcorn (W) 8Xc-2-3-1-2-5, Andrew Mathiowetz (S) Zc-0-0-0-1-1 ... New London-Spicer: Shawn Hatlestad (L) 9-7-4-1-2-2