Weather Forecast


Former Cardinal star Lori Roufs joining Bison HOF

FARGO, N.D. -- Lori (Roufs) Hanson, a 1992 graduate of Willmar High School, is one of seven new members of the Bison Athletic Hall of Fame at North Dakota State University.

The induction will be held starting at 11 a.m. at the Holiday Inn in Fargo on Friday.

Tickets are available from NDSU Athletic Media Relations Office (701-231-7197) at $25 per ticket.

Lori Roufs was a member of NDSU teams that won four consecutive Division II women's basketball national championships (1993-96). The fourth of those was defined as one of the "25 Most Defining Moments in NCAA History."

Roufs made the NCAA Elite Eight All-Tourney Team in both '95 and '96. The two-time All-North Central Conference forward set single-game school record scoring 42 points against Nebraska-Omaha and her 20 field goals set North Central Conference, school and arena records.

She played in 128 games, tying her for most in program's history, and scored 1,263 points as the 15th member of the Bison 1,000-point club.

At Willmar, Roufs earned 11 letters in volleyball, basketball and softball, earning eight all-conference honors. She is second all-time in scoring with 1,545 points. She has a master's degree from Hamline and recently completed their administrative licensure program.

Lori was inducted the second year (2003) into the Cardinal Pride Hall of Fame. She is married to Willmar graduate Tim Hanson. Both are teacher/coaches, Tim at St. Michael-Albertville and Lori at Monticello. Children Olivia is six and Wyatt four.

Also slated for the 40th annual class of inductees are the 1991 NCAA Division II national champion women's basketball team; former men's golf coach Steve Weidner (1982-94); all-region baseball outfielder Chuck Erickson (1979-82); NCAA national champion wrestler Steve Carr (1982-84); All-NCAA Elite Eight guard Jen Rademacher (1992-96); All-America running back Tony Satter (1987-90); and recently retired National Hall of Fame wrestling coach Bucky Maughan (1964-2011).