Weather Forecast


College Volleyball: Smith tops in MCAC South, Sussenguth coach of year

1 / 2
2 / 2

WILLMAR -- Ridgewater landed three players on the MCAC Southern Division All-Division First Team, it was announced on Thursday.

Ridgewater outside hitter Hannah Smith was named division Player of the Year. Setter Molly Hurrle and outside hitter/defensive specialist Aimee Johnson were named to the First Team. All are sophomores.

Freshman hitter Kelsey Stommes was named to the Second Team. Former Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa standout Shannon Gruber of St. Cloud Technical College was also named to the Second Team.

Ridgewater head coach Joe Sussenguth was named Coach of the Year. The Lady Warriors finished 12-0 in the South.

The Lady Warriors are the host team for the two-day Region 13A Tournament starting at 5 p.m. today with Ridgewater facing Western Wisconsin Tech. Rochester and St. Cloud Technical College meet in the nightcap at 7 p.m.

The championship game for a berth in the NJCAA Division III Tournament is at 1 p.m. Saturday in the college gym.

All-MCAC South

First Team

Hannah Smith -- Ridgewater

Kat Kuecker -- Rochester

Molly Hurrle -- Ridgewater

Kelly Barnes -- Rochester

Morgan Kapphahn -- Fergus Falls

Aimee Johnson -- Ridgewater

Jordyn Campbell -- Fergus Falls

Tesslynn Callander -- St. Cloud

Second Team

Kelsey Stommes -- Ridgewater

Cassie Masberg -- Riverland

Abbie Fay -- Rochester

Katherine Kazemba -- MN West

Kat Evans -- St. Cloud

Christine Moenkedeck -- Fergus Falls

Shannon Gruber -- St. Cloud

Katey Granstra -- MN West