Weather Forecast


Willmar wrestling smashes Sabres

Tribune photo by Rand Middleton Willmar sophomore 126-pounder Zach Lueders heaves Kyle Karolous of Sartell to the mat in the third period and shortly converted the move into a near-fall and a 16-0 technical fall on Thursday at Willmar Senior High School.1 / 2
Kevin Fladeboe (1973), right, Willmar's first-ever state champion in wrestling and Chad Carlson ('89, '90), the Cardinals' only two-time state champion, stand during introductions of Willmar state champions during the first Alumni Night. Also introduced were Carl Carlson ('92) and Nathanial Swoyer ('11).2 / 2

WILLMAR -- The Willmar Cardinals showed off for its alumni on Thursday bashing conference leading Sartell 60-14.

Willmar is now 3-1 in Central Lakes matches. Sartell dropped a rung to 4-2.

"We wrestled really well," said coach Ed Oehlers. "We're trying to stay in the conference race."

Brainerd, which has a win over Willmar, is also 3-1.

Before the match, state champion Nathanial Swoyer was presented his championship banner which will be hung in the gym with other champios.

The Willmar Cardinals got an early burst of energy when eighth-grader Logan Walkow pinned Jake Fernholz, also an eighth-grader, at 3:27. It was a stunning reversal; Walkow was on his back several times in the first period and trailed 8-0. It was 11-2 when he reversed Fernholz and pasted him to the red mat.

Nate Mittag, Austin Miley and Zach Lueders followed with bonus-point wins for a quick 21-0 lead.

Freshman Travis Deegan followed with a decision at 132 before 6-point victories each by Alex Johannes, Estevan Navarro and Seth Pollock.

Later there came pins by Chad Milhausen, Shawn Johnson and heavyweight Cass Herzog.

Willmar is 6-1 overall in duals.

Willmar 60, Sartell 14

106: Logan Walkow, W, pin Jake Fernholz 3:27

113: Nate Mittag, W, pin Sam Krauel :57

120: Austin Miley, W, mj Jon Pelach 13-4

126: Zach Lueders, W, tcfl Kyle Karolous 16-0

132: Travis Deegan, W, dec Zach Motschke 7-2

138: Alex Johannes, W, pin Garret Counter 5:37

145: Estevan Navarro, W, pin Abe Anderson 1:45

152: Seth Pollock, W, won by inj default Theo Deuel

160: Dan Vitale, S, pin August Hahn 4:57

170: Chad Milhausen, W, pin Jed Anderson 4:55

182: Shawn Johnson, W, pin Jake Minor 2:11

195: Brady Goebel, S, pin Jalen Cabrera 1:17

220: Nick Jensen, S, pin Matt Hennes 1:41

285: Cass Herzog, W, pin Tony Thene 4:44