Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling: Paynesville's Platow wins state championship

1 / 2
Dominick Platow of Paynesville and 2011 heavyweight champion in Class A, Alex Yeager of Badger/Greenbush-Middle River struggle in the first period at the Xcel Energy Center in the final match of the 2012 state tournament. Platow would pin his taller opponent with 30 seconds left in the third period.2 / 2

One west central Minnesota wrestler brought home a state championship Saturday at the Minnesota State Wrestling Tournament.

Paynesville's Dominick Platow won the Class A title at 285 pounds by pinning Alex Yeager, of Badger-Green Bush-Middle River, in 5 minutes, 30 seconds.

Three other Class A wrestlers and four Class AA wrestlers fell in state championship matches to claim second-place medals.

In Class A, ACGC's Hayden Rouser and Larry Bomstad earned second-place finishes, as did KMS' Jordan Rothers. ACGC's Logan Peterson and BBE's Patrick Rooney won third-place matches, and ACGC's James Nelson and MACCRAY/RCW's Brent Jaenisch won fifth-place matches.

In Class AA, three Dawson-Boyd-LQPV wrestlers -- John Weeding, Sam Haas and JD. Struxness -- brought home second-place medals, as did Morris Area's Tim Ostby.

Three New London-Spicer wrestlers -- Jakob Stageberg, Chase Austvold and Tanner Tobkin -- claimed third-place medals, and Morris Area's Zach Gibson and NLS' Ben Henle placed fourth. NLS' Dylan Hanson brought home a fifth-place medal.

No area Class AAA wrestlers placed among the top six.

Here are the results from Saturday's finals and consolation matches:

Class A

* ACGC's Hayden Rouser lost to Oakley McLain, of Kenyon-Wanamingo, 4-2 in the 126 pound final.

* ACGC's Logan Peterson defeated Andrew Swedzinski, of Minneota, 4-0 in the 132 third-place match.

* ACGC's Larry Bomstad lost to Adam Cooling, of Madelia-Truman/Martin Luther, 3-2 in three overtimes in the 145 final.

* KMS's Jordan Rothers lost to Darick Vancura, of Jackson County West, 12-7 in the 160 final.

* BBE's Patrick Rooney defeated Collin Huckbody, of Walker-Hackensack, 6-5 in the 170 third-place match.

* ACGC's James Nelson defeated Seth Petranek, of New Richland-H-E, 6-3 in the 182 fifth-place match.

* MACCRAY/RCW's Brent Jaenisch defeated Justin Viss, of Chatfield, 9-5 in the 195 fifth-place match.

* Platow defeated Yeager by pin at 5:30.

Class AA

* NLS' Jakob Stageberg defeated Trevor Schultz, of Fairmont/Martin County West, 9-5 in the 106 third-place match.

* Dawson-Boyd-LQPV's John Weeding lost to Juan Torres, of Simley, by pin at 3:17 in the 126 championship match.

* NLS's Ben Henle lost to Keng Xiong, of St. Paul Johnson, 8-7 in the 126 third-place match.

* NLS' Chase Austvold defeated Jonah Gahm, of Milaca, by injury default in the 132 third-place match.

* Morris Area's Tim Ostby lost to Jake Short, of Simley, by pin at 3:35 in the 145 championship match.

* D-B-LQPV's Sam Haas lost to John Redepenning, of Rockford, 11-5 in the 160 championship match.

* NLS' Dylan Hanson defeated Brady Ayers, of WEM-JWP, by pin at 59 seconds in the 160 fifth-place match.

* NLS' Tanner Tobkin defeated Chris Scott, of St. Paul Humbolt, 9-4 in the 182 third-place match. Tobkin avenged a loss to Scott in the quarterfinals.

* D-B-LQPV's JD Struxness lost to Joe Schiller, of Totino Grace, 6-5 in the 220 championship match.

* Morris Area's Zach Gibson lost to Sam Stoll, of Kasson-Mantorville, 1-0 in the 285 third-place match.

Tom Larson

Tom Larson is the sports editor of the West Central Tribune.

(320) 214-4372