Weather Forecast


Boys State Hockey Tourney: Greyhounds back after devastating loss

Associated Press In this March 2011 file photo, Hermantown's Garrett Skrbich, left, and Alexandria's Nick Swanson vie for position during the first period in a boys' Class A game in St. Paul.

In the sixth year of seeding the qualified teams, Hermantown was chosen No. 1 in Class A and Duluth East was chosen No. 1 in Class AA for the 2012 State Boys' Hockey Tournament, which begins Wednesday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Class A Preview

(No. 2 Seed) St. Thomas Academy, Mendota Heights (23-5-0) vs. Little Falls (19-9-0)

The Cadets of St. Thomas Academy are making their seventh appearance and will attempt to defend their 2011 championship. They also won titles in 2006 and 2008. The Flyers of Little Falls, ranked 16th in the final LPH poll, are making their sixth appearance and seek their first title.

(No. 3 Seed) Breck School, Golden Valley (24-3-1) vs. Marshall School, Duluth (21-7-0)

The Mustangs of Breck School, consolation champions last year, are making their fourth consecutive and ninth overall appearance. They earned previous titles in 2000, 2004, 2009 and 2010. This year they were ranked No. 3 in the final LPH poll. Marshall School is making its sixth appearance and seeks its first title.

(No. 1 Seed) Hermantown (28-0-0) vs. Rochester Lourdes (20-8-0)

The Hawks of Hermantown are making their third consecutive and ninth overall appearance in the school's first undefeated, untied season. They were ranked No. 1 in this year's final LPH poll. The Eagles of Rochester Lourdes, a co-op with Stewartville, returns for the third consecutive year.

(No. 4 Seed) Thief River Falls (22-4-2) vs. New Ulm (17-11-0)

The Prowlers of Thief River Falls, a co-op with Goodridge and Warren-Alvarado-Oslo that finished third last year, were ranked No. 4 in this year's final LPH poll. This is the third appearance for the Prowlers as a co-op,

Unranked New Ulm, which includes students from New Ulm Cathedral and Minnesota Valley Lutheran of New Ulm, is making its third consecutive appearance as that pairing and fourth overall.

Class AA Preview

(No. 2 Seed) Maple Grove (24-2-2) vs. Hill-Murray, Maplewood (22-6-0)

The Crimson of Maple Grove earned the second seed and third ranking in the final LPH poll making their inaugural state tournament appearance. Hill-Murray, ranked ninth in the final LPH poll, is making its 25th appearance and seeks to add a fourth title, having won in 1983, 1991 and 2008.

(No. 3 Seed) Eagan (24-3-1) vs. Moorhead (21-6-0)

The Wildcats, fifth-ranked by LPH, seek their first title in their third appearance. The Spuds of Moorhead, who bowed two and out last year, earned the No. 10 ranking in the LPH poll. They are making their 13th appearance and have won no titles yet.

(No. 1 Seed) Duluth East (27-1-0) vs. Lakeville South (20-8-0)

The Greyhounds of Duluth East, the 2011 runners-up, are making their fourth consecutive and 19th overall appearance. They were top-ranked in this year's final LPH poll and seek a fourth title, having previously won in 1960, 1995 and 1998. Lakeville South, ranked 10th in the final LPH poll, is making its second appearance and is seeking its first title.

(No. 4 Seed) Edina (23-5-0) vs. Benilde-St. Margaret's, St. Louis Park (22-6-0)

The Edina Hornets are returning for their 23rd appearance. They were ranked No. 4 in the final LPH poll and are in the hunt for their 11th title. They won previously in 1969, 1971, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1997, and 2010, plus 1974, 1978 and 1979 as Edina East. The Red Knights of Benilde-St. Margaret's are making their fourth appearance.