Weather Forecast


College Wrestling: Ridgewater grades out first

Members of Ridgewater's 2011-12 wrestling team. Submitted photo.

The 2011-12 Ridgewater College wrestling team has been named the NJCAA Academic Wrestling Team of the Year.

The announcement was made this week on the NJCAA website. Teams of the year had the highest GPA in their sport with a minimum GPA of 3.0 needed to qualify for recognition. A total of 450 junior college teams in 28 sports qualified in the 29th year the NJCAA has recognized the academic successes of student athletes.

The Warriors' 3.05 GPA was based on the entire year for freshmen and two years for sophomores. Ridgewater competes athletically at the Division III level but the academic awards are all inclusive.

Earlier, Ridgewater received the top academic award from the NJCAA Wrestling Coaches Association based on one semester for 10 starters and two reserves.

Head coach Tom Beyer listed team members and home towns or high schools as follows:

Sophomores: Lonny Booshu, Nome, Alaska; Charlie Gelhaye, Simley; Mariano Portillo, Crookston; Javier Portillo, Crookston.

Freshmen: Stephen Delwiche, Glencoe; Shane Fesenmaier, Sauk Rapids; Yonas Gebreab, Eagan; Kevin Hahn, Parkers Prairie; Trevor Mahlum, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg; Matt Marketon, Howard Lake; Tyrell Martin, Henry Sibley; Shawn Mattson, Eden Valley; Coty Milhausen, Willmar; Klinton VanHeuveln, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg.