Weather Forecast


Prep wrestling roundup: Litchfield defuses Chargers

LITCHFIELD — A mid-match surge sparked the Dragons as Litchfield toppled Highway 12 rival Dassel-Cokato 50-25 in a Wright County Conference dual Thursday.

Sam Tibbits at 106 earned a technical decision and Derek Fruetel at 113 notched a pin to give Litchfield a quick 11-0 lead before the Chargers got back-to-back pins to edge ahead. But the Dragons then got pins from Tyler Jones at 132, Ryan Anderson at 138 and Devan Nelson at 145 to regain the lead that they wouldn’t relinquish.

The Dragons later got a couple of pins from Wyatt Kaping at 170 and Walker Kaping at 220.

Litchfield 50, Dassel-Cokato 25

106: Sam Tibbits, L, tcfl Blake Braunworth 16-0

113: Derek Fruetel, L, pin Hunter Martin :47

120: Alex Bapp, D, pin Dylan Penk 1:44

126: Tom Keskey, D, pin Kevin Haring 3:23

132: Tyler Jones, L, pin Isaac Pokornowski 3:29

138: Ryan Anderson, L, pin Tom Trelstad 2:56

145: Devan Nelson, L, pin Clay Brost :45

152: Brett Abrahamson, D, maj Corey Pritchett 9-1

160: Tom Halonen, D, dec Jake Kalkbrenner 7-0

170: Wyatt Kaping, L, pin Cole Schmidt 1:27

182: Nate King, L, dec Mike Leffler 4-1

195: Walker Kaping, L, pin Jacob Brost 2:10

220: Max Kaping, L, won by injury default over Joey Wraspir

285: Hans Aho, D, won by forfeit

Wright County

At Hutchinson

NLS 66, Glencoe-SL 9

The Panthers got a pin in the match’s first clash, but New London-Spicer then got three forfeits, two decisions from Tom Stageberg at 113 pounds and Logan Brink at 138, and a pin from Treyton Austvold at 132 to seize control.

The Wildcats later won the final six weights on two forfeits and pins from Corbin Schwartz at 160, Luke Gould at 182, Grant Vagle at 195 and Andy McDonnell at 220.

106: Jacob Jewett, G, pin Jacob Travis 2:32

113: Tom Stageberg, N, dec Aaron Donnay 9-7

120: Jakob Stageberg, N, won by forfeit

126: Oden Rogers, N, won by forfeit

132: Treyton Austvold, N, pin Kyle Polzin 1:03

138: Logan Brink, N, dec Brandon Richter 10-3

145: Logan Eckhoff, N, won by forfeit

152: Mitchell Hartwig, G, dec Cameron Steffen 9-3

160: Corbin Schwartz, N, pin Nick Brejile 2:15

170: Jarrett Hatlestad, N, won by forfeit

182: Luke Gould, N, pin John Williams 2:25

195: Grant Vagle, N, pin Martin Lezama 1:55

220: Andy McDonnell, N, pin Ray Eberhard 1:45

285: Brandon Knisley, N, won by forfeit

Hutchinson 34, NLS 33

The Wildcats built a 33-16 lead before Hutchinson closed out the match by winning the final four weights.

Jakob Stageberg at 120, Logan Brink at 138 and Corbin Schwartz at 160 earned pins for NLS. Tom Stageberg at 113, Treyton Austvold at 132 and Jarrett Hatlestad at 170 added major decisions. Oden Rogers gave the Wildcats a 13-6 lead with his 11-5 decision at 126.

106: Dylan Pundsack, H, pin Jacob Travis 3:40

113: Tom Stageberg, N, maj Logan Wadsworth 14-1

120: Jakob Stageberg, N, pin Jayden Mackdanz 1:31

126: Oden Rogers, N, dec Tyler Karl 11-5

132: Treyton Austvold, N, maj Luke Pundsack 12-2

138: Logan Brink, N, pin Logan Sondergaard 4:55

145: Eric Madson, H, pin Logan Eckhoff 2:49

152: Chris Schmidt, H, maj Cameron Steffen 8-0

160: Corbin Schwartz, N, pin Grant Baumetz 1:15

170: Jarrett Hatlestad, N, maj Gregor Faser 18-5

182: Gannon Jordahl, H, dec Grant Vagle 17-11

195: Paxton Jordahl, H, pin Luke Gould 4:53

220: Jake Filk, H, pin Andy McDonnell 1:39

285: Jacob Vanderheiden, H, dec Brandon Knisley 14-8

West Central

At Glenwood

Paynesville 57, Minnewaska 15

Paynesville won seven consecutive matches at one point to take a comfortable 45-9 lead. Collecting pins for the Bulldogs were Damian Viessman at 126 pounds, Nathan Stang at 145, Alex Whitcomb at 152, Jacob Mages at 160 and Frank Christian at 220.

Joseph Weaver opened the match with a first-period pin at 106 for the Lakers.

106: Joseph Weaver, M, pin Brandon Douglas :41

113: Garth Utsch, P, won by forfeit

120: Spencer Winter, M, dec Jonathan Schaeffer 3-2

126: Damian Viessman, P, pin Bret Ingebretson :22

132: Jordan Karels, P, won by forfeit

138: Andrew Kerzman, P, dec Caleb Blaisdell 10-8

145: Nathan Stang, P, pin Julius Rohrbach 1:53

152: Alex Whitcomb, P, pin Jacob Lutterman :32

160: Jacob Mages, P, pin Brook Wollschlager 2:10

170: Anthony Wendlandt, P, won by forfeit

182: Taylor Lundebrek, M, dec Caleb Burris 2-1

195: Bradley Jacobs, M, dec Derek Ludwig 6-2

220: Frank Christian, P, pin JR Formo :53

285: Andy Gottwald, P, won by forfeit

Quad County 42, Paynesville 25

Jordan Odegard at 106, Colten Specht at 113 and Ethan Thein at 120 earned consecutive pins to open the match and give Quad County a quick 18-0 lead.

The co-op composed of MACCRAY, RCW and YME then got decisions from Zach Kluver at 126 and Trevor Fagen at 132, and pins from Kirby Winson at 138 and Wyatt hatch at 145 to stretch its lead to 36-0 before Paynesville got on the scoreboard with a decision at 160 from Clay Spanier.

Paynesville later got pins from Michael Ludwig at 182, Caleb Burris at 195 and Derek Ludwig at 220.

106: Jordan Odegard, Q, pin Brandon Douglas 4:51

113: Colten Specht, Q, pin Jonathan Schaeffer 1:20

120: Ethan Thein, Q, pin Nick Gabrielson :31

126: Zach Kluver, Q, dec Damian Viessman 5-2

132: Trevor Fagen, Q, dec Andrew Kerzman 10-3

138: Kirby Winson, Q, pin Nathan Stang :30

145: Wyatt Hatch, Q, pin Alex Whitcomb 3:29

152: Jacob Mages, P, dec Hayden Johnson 6-3

160: Clay Spanier, P, maj Brandon Bratsch 9-0

170: Aaron Lalim, Q, dec Anthony Wendlandt 4-2

182: Michael Ludwig, P, pin Oscar Arce 5:56

195: Caleb Burris, P, pin Brandon Bratsch :42

220: Derek Ludwig, P, pin Landen Evans 3:20

285: Brier Bossman, Q, dec Tanner Harder 12-8

Quad County 51, Minnewaska 24

Quad County won nine straight weights after Joseph Weaver muscled a second-period pin at 106 pounds for Minnewaska.

Quad County got pins from Ethan Thein at 120, Zach Kluver at 126, Kirby Winson at 138, Wyatt Hatch at 145 and Hayden Johnson at 152.

The Lakers also got falls from Taylor Lundebrek at 182, Brad Jacobs at 195 and JR Formo at 220.

106: Joseph Weaver, M, pin Jordan Odegard 3:49

113: Victor Rivera, Q, won by forfeit

120: Ethan Thein, Q, pin Spencer Winter 1:33

126: Zach Kluver, Q, pin Bret Ingebretson 1:14

132: Trevor Fagen, Q, won by forfeit

138: Kirby Winson, Q, pin Caleb Blaisdell 3:34

145: Wyatt Hatch, Q, pin Julius Rohrbach 2:28

152: Hayden Johnson, Q, pin Jacob Lutterman :36

160: Zach Fisher, Q, dec Brock Wollschlager 5-4

170: Aaron Lalim, Q, won by forfeit

182: Taylor Lundebrek, M, pin Brian Bratsch 1:15

195: Brad Jacobs, M, pin Oscar Arce 3:19

220: JR Formo, M, pin Landon Evans 5:36

285: Double forfeit