Weather Forecast


Prep wrestling: NLS 2-0 at Delano Duals

DELANO — Jakob Stageberg, Logan Eckhoff and Logan Brink collected two pins each Thursday to help New London-Spicer hammer Delano 53-20 and Orono 40-11 in a couple of Wright County Conference matches.

Oden Rogers at 126 also picked up two wins for the Wildcats, an 8-7 decision against Delano and a first-period pin against the Spartans.

NL-Spicer 53, Delano 20

Delano opened the dual by getting a technical fall at 106 pounds, but it was all NLS after that. The Wildcats won the next eight matches — three by forfeit and three by fall — to take a 43-5 lead.

Jakob Stageberg at 120, Logan Eckhoff at 132, Logan Brink at 138 and Luke Gould at 182 all collected a pin for NLS.

106: Tucker Sjomeling, D, tcfl Jacob Travis 16-1

113: Tom Stageberg, N, won by forfeit

120: Jakob Stageberg, N, pin Cole Paskach 1:15

126: Oden Rogers, N, dec Connor Dalbec 8-7

132: Logan Eckhoff, N, pin Zach Knight 2:51

138: Logan Brink, N, pin Sam Fink 3:19

145: Jared Travis, N, won by forfeit

152: Cameron Steffen, N, won by forfeit

160: Zach Swigerd, N, maj Colton Christiansen 18-5

170: Miles Hammerland, D, pin Grant Vagle 5:00

182: Luke Gould, N, pin Gunnar Bergstrom 1:01

195: Aaron Wagner, D, pin Noah Welsh 3:14

220: Kevin Kneisl, D, dec Brandon Knisley 2-0

285: Rick Berry, N, maj Walker Russek 11-1

NL-Spicer 40, Orono 11

The Wildcats won seven straight matches after falling just short in the opener.

Oden Rogers at 126 pounds, Logan Eckhoff at 132 and Logan Brink at 138 logged back-to-back-to-back pins for NLS. Jakob Stageberg also had a pin at 113.

Also winning for New London-Spicer was Bryant Pfingsten at 120, Cameron Steffen at 152 and Grant Vagle at 170.

The teams double forfeited at 182, 195 and 220.

106: Ronan Winkels, O, dec Jacob Travis 5-4

113: Jakob Stageberg, N, pin Spencer Schuh 1:12

120: Bryant Pfingsten, N, maj Jacob Williams 13-3

126: Oden Rogers, N, pin Jim Williams :51

132: Logan Eckhoff, N, pin Bobby Striggow 1:05

138: Logan Brink, N, pin Thomas Hockey 1:42

145: Jared Travis, N, won by forfeit

152: Cameron Steffen, N, dec Gabe Van Dyck 7-6

160: Charlie Schmid, O, tcfl Zach Swigerd 17-2

170: Grant Vagle, N, dec Jackson Striggow 8-7

182: double forfeit

195: double forfeit

220: double forfeit

285: Zach Mahan, O, dec Rick Berry 7-6