Weather Forecast


Prep wrestling: Falcons soar past Fighting Saints

Tribune photo by Rand Middleton ACGC’s Robert Rasmussen holds the Fighting Saints’ Jordan Engler to the mat as the horn sounds to end the 113-pound match Friday at Grove City. Rasmussen trailed by a point with five seconds left when he scored a takedown at the edge of the mat in front of the KMS bench.

GROVE CITY — Early excitement at the ACGC Junior-Senior High School went in the Falcons’ favor and so did the majority of the remainder of their non-conference dual with Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg Friday.

In a match between two top-five teams in Class A, No. 2 ACGC rolled past No. 5 KMS 49-14.

The side bleachers were at capacity and the drama came immediately with a three-overtime match at 106. ACGC eighth-grader Rylan Molinaro, who was down to start the third period, got a reversal to edge seventh-grader Caleb Collins 6-4.

At 112, the Saints’ Jordan Engler got a takedown with 16 seconds left in the third period for a 5-3 lead. But Falcons’ senior Robert Rasmussen wasn’t done; he got an escape and then a last-gasp takedown at the edge of the mat as the horn wailed for a 6-5 win.

The third match, at 120, was more of the same and once again ACGC prevailed with Derek Dangerud winning the points with a late move on Nick Meyer for a 3-1 win.

Cody Peters then ended the streak for KMS by collecting seven points in the first period and another six in the third to earn a 13-5 major decision at 126 over Cameron Whitcomb.

The Falcons then won the next four matches to take a comfortable 28-4 lead. Zach Carlson earned a major decision at 160 to remain unbeaten and Jordon Rothers answered with a pin late in the first period at 170 for KMS, but ACGC then won the night’s final four matches.

No. 6 Lucas Damm pinned No. 7 (195) Jorge Munoz-Peterson in 1:33 at 220 for ACGC and Falcons’ Jacob Peterson outlasted No. 9 (220) Chase Norton 1-0 at 195 in two highly anticipated upper-weight matches.

Also picking up wins for the Falcons were pins from Logan Peterson at 138, Lee Whitcomb at 152 and Maverick Whitcomb at 182, and decisions from Jesse Rogers at 132 and unbeaten Larry Bomstad (major) at 145.

ACGC 49, KMS 14

106: Rylan Molinaro, A, dec Caleb Collins 6-4, 3 OT

113: Robert Rasmussen, A, dec Jordan Engler 6-5

120: Derek Dengerud, A, dec Nick Meyer 3-1

126: Cody Peters, K, maj Cameron Whitcomb 13-5

132: Jesse Rogers, A, dec Aaron Collins 10-6

138: Logan Peterson, A, pin Fred Mansfield 3:09

145: Larry Bomstad, A, maj Kyle Baker 9-0

152: Lee Whitcomb, A, pin Travis Lamecker :40

160: Zach Carlson, K, maj Matthew Whitcomb 13-5

170: Jordon Rothers, K, pin Cody Berghuis 1:52

182: Maverick Whitcomb, A, pin Austin Rothers 3:29

195: Jacob Peterson, A, dec Chase Norton 1-0

220: Lucas Damm, A, pin Jorge Munoz-Pederson 1:33

285: Jordan Fester, A, won by forfeit

Jesse Fuchs
I have been with the Tribune since the summer of 1998. I enjoy covering the high school aspect of the business and designing pages.
(320) 214-4333