Weather Forecast


Prep wrestling roundup: KMS overwhelms Paynesville

(Tribune photo by Rand Middleton) Zach Carlson of Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg throws Anthony Wendlandt of Paynesville in the second period in the 160-pound match Friday at Grove City.

GROVE CITY — Five consecutive pins to open the match Friday propelled Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg to a 60-12 non-conference win over Paynesville at ACGC Junior-Senior High School.

Nick Meyer’s pin late in the third period at 120 pounds was sandwiched between first-period pins from Caleb Collins at 106, Jordan Engler at 113, Cody Peters at 126 and Aaron Collins at 132.

A Fred Mansfield 6-3 decision at 132 and Kyle Baker’s third-period pin at 145 followed to give KMS a commanding 39-0 lead.

Jacob Mages broke the streak for Paynesville by earning a 5-2 decision at 152. KMS then answered by getting its seventh and eighth pin of the dual from Zach Carlson at 160 and Jordon Rothers at 170.

The teams then split the final four matches — only two were contested as Paynesville forfeited 220 and KMS 285 — with Caleb Burris collecting a 6-3 decision at 182 for Paynesville and Chase Norton winning 7-5 at 195 for KMS.

KMS 60, Paynesville 12

106: Caleb Collins, K, pin Brandon Douglas 1:44

113: Jordan Engler, K, pin Jonathan Schaeffer 1:07

120: Nick Meyer, K, pin Jared Kuntsleben 5:33

126: Cody Peters, K, pin Damian Viessman :16

132: Aaron Collins, K, pin Andrew Kerzman :51

138: Fred Mansfield, K, dec Alex Whitcomb 6-3

145: Kyle Baker, K, pin Nathan Stang 5:28

152: Jacob Mages, P, dec Travis Lamecker 5-2

160: Zach Carlson, K, pin Anthony Wendlandt 3:54

170: Jordon Rothers, K, pin Michael Ludwig 1:36

182: Caleb Burris, P, dec Austin Rothers 6-3

195: Chase Norton, K, dec Derek Ludwig 7-5

220: Jorge Munoz-Pederson, K, won by forfeit

285: Tanner Harder, P, won by forfeit


A three-point lead for BOLD halfway through the match extended to an 18-point advantage after Chaz Roush won a 3-1 decision at 152 pounds, Ben Steffel collected a pin at 160 and Tracy-Milroy-Balaton/West-brook-Walnut Grove forfeited at 170.

The Panthers then won a close decision at 182, but the Warriors closed out the night by getting pins from Joel Erickson at 195 and heavyweight Trevor Nissen, and a technical fall from Manuel Garcia at 220.

Brady Zitzmann at 106, Zach Malacek at 132 and Andrew Hansen at 138 also notched pins for the Warriors.

106: Brady Zitzmann, B, pin Nester Perez 1:53

113: Nash Meyer, T, won by forfeit

120: Logan Axford, T, won by forfeit

126: Brett Grund, B, dec Caleb Christian 3-1

132: Zach Malacek, B, pin Kyle Gilbertson 4:44

138: Andrew Hansen, B, pin Austin Buchholz 1:08

145: Sterling Schwartz, T, pin Derrick Lothert 3:12

152: Chaz Roush, B, dec Austin Peterson 3-1

160: Ben Steffel, B, pin Brennen Cooley 3:35

170: Alex Hatch, B, won by forfeit

182: Tanner Michelson, T, dec Martin Minkel 3-2

195: Joel Erickson, B, pin Cole Olson :45

220: Manuel Garcia, B, tcfl Brandon Balsavage 4:21

285: Trevor Nissen, B, pin Jake Peterson :16

Wright County

Oden Rogers at 120 pounds and Treyton Austvold at 126 both went 3-0 to claim individual titles for New London-Spicer at the conference tournament hosted by Delano. The Wildcats finished second in the team standings behind Hutchinson.

Rogers won all three of his matches by pin and Austvold collected two pins to advance to the final where he earned a 9-3 decision.

NLS also had Jakob Stageberg at 113 and Corbin Schwartz at 145 place second, and Tom Stageberg at 106 finish third.

How Litchfield fared

Not available

How New London-Spicer fared

Key: (Weight, name, won-loss, place)

106: Tom Stageberg 3-1, 3rd … 113: Jakob Stageberg 1-1, 2nd … 120: Oden Rogers 3-0, 1st … 126: Treyton Austvold 3-0, 1st … 132: Logan Eckhoff 2-2, 5th … 138: Logan Brink 2-2, 5th … 145: Corbin Schwartz 1-1, 2nd … 152: Cameron Steffen 2-2, 4th … 160: Zach Swigerd 0-2 … 170: Luke Gould 2-2, 5th … 182: Ben Beuning 0-2 … 195: Noah Welsh 1-3, 6th … 220: open … 285: Brandon Knisley 2-2, 5th