Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling: No. 8 Willmar collects 2 more wins

COLD SPRING — The Willmar wrestling team picked up two section wins and a Central Lakes Conference victory on Friday, moving a step closer to an undefeated conference season.

The Cardinals, ranked No. 8 in the latest Class AAA state poll, dumped Wayzata 49-17 and also took out Central Lakes Conference rival Rocori 40-23.

Willmar co-head coach Ed Oehlers said Estavan Navarro and Leon Richards wrestled well in picking up two wins apiece.

Navarro won a major decision against Wayzata’s Aaron Cote and also won by major decision over Rocori’s Cody Buerman.

“He wrestled really well against some tough guys and beat them handily,” Oehlers said of Navarro. “He’s been wrestling excellently for us for awhile now.”

Richards won by fall in 27 seconds against Wayzata and defeated Rocori’s Tyler Hoffman 8-7.

The Cardinals (13-2 overall) improved to 6-0 in the Central Lakes Conference with two conference matches remaining.

They travel to Sauk Rapids on Thursday, then finish the season against Fergus Falls on Feb. 6 in Willmar.

Willmar 49, Wayzata 17

106: Israel Navarro, Wi, maj Mark Wallerius 12-4

113: Juan Resendez, Wi, dec Boyd Mumbuwa 6-4

120: Logan Walkow, Wi, pin David Couri 2:28

126: Austin Miley, Wi, maj Delaney Dahl 13-0

132: Nick O’Brien, Wa, maj Zach Lueders 21-7

138: Estevan Navarro, Wi, maj Aaron Cote 15-5

145: Evan Kluck, Wa, maj Levi Milhausen 17-5

152: Travis Deegan, Wi, maj Andrew Kouach 12-4

160: Colten Carlson, Wi, pin Damian Lowe 1:25

170: Vaughn Johnson, Wi, won by forfeit

182: Collin Sohn, Wa, pin Darius O’Neill 0:30

195: Jordan Porteous, Wa, dec Jalen Cabrera 4-3

220: Matt Hennes, Wi, pin Corrie King 5:32

285: Leon Richards, Wi, pin Bryce Schwab 0:27

Willmar 40, Rocori 23

106: Cole Steil, R, maj Clay Carlson 11-2

113: Adam Kunz, R, dec Juan Resendez 8-1

120: Logan Walkow, W, dec Gunnar Feildhege 7-6

126: Austin Miley, W, pin Zach Swanson 1:02

132: Zach Lueders, W, maj Logan Peterka 13-0

138: Estevan Navarro, W, maj Cody Buerman 15-7

145: Nick Warne, R, tcfl Levi Milhausen 5:49 22-7

152: Travis Deegan, W, dec Ben Hoffman 5-3

160: Colten Carlson, W, tcfl Dalton Calfas 4:54 17-2

170: Vaughn Johnson, W, pin Mitch Schwinghammer 3:00

182: Seth Kelin, R, tcfl Kory Welgraven 4:54 17-2

195: Ryan Vigil, R, pin Jalen Cabrera 1:40

220: Matt Hennes, W, pin Seth Miller 1:39

285: Leon Richards, W, dec Tyler Hoffman 8-7