Weather Forecast


Willmar spring sports preview


Jerry Popp


Carl Shuldes, Tanya Oie, Neil Sussenguth, Barb Eilers, Rob Palmer, Chuck Gunderson


Season: April 9 at Sartell.

Optimist Invitational: April 16 at Hodapp Field (ACGC, BLH/BOLD, Minneapolis South, Marshall, St. Cloud Tech, Sartell, Rocori)

Hamline Elite Meet: April 24, Hamline University, St. Paul

Section True Team: May 7 at Sauk Rapids

CLC championships: May 21 at Brainerd.

Section 2AA: At Gustavus Adolphus College, St. Peter, May 27, 29


There are just over 100 out, but lots of question marks.  Losses have been heavy the last two years, which included boys CLC and section titles in 2007 and a girls second-place finish in Section 2AA last spring. "We don't have the depth/experience to challenge for CLC or sections (titles) this year, but will steadily improve as the season progresses," said head coach Jerry Popp. Steve Kluver and Mahad Hassan (MVP, 5th in state in the Class AA 3200 run) should be individual standouts on the boys team and the young sprinters are expected to step up. On the girls side, Shelby Morton (MVP) is a returning state qualifier in the intermediate hurdles and high jump and was close to breaking the school record in the 300 lows. Distance should be a strength.



Central Lakes Conference: 5th place

Section 2AA: 5th place


(Returning letterwinners in bold)

SENIORS: Jon Alveno Batre, Garrett Erickson, Edwin Fenske, Mahad Hassan, Steven Kluver, Philip Knutson, Kamil Mudey, Hippolito Sanchez, Kyle Schmidt, Josh Serbus, Cody Stegeman

JUNIORS: Joseph Ballandby, Alexander Benson, Ben Harms, Kyle Hilding, Joel Hedlof, Anthony Jaekel, Bradley Kallhoff, Tom LaPatka, Dempsey Schroeder, Charles Seifert, Shane Sharp, Daniel Voss, Matt Weitzel, Josh Wright,

SOPHOMORES: David Arnold, Andrew Backhaus, Derek Ballandby, Anders Byberg, Cole Christopher, Ivan Hennessey, Nathan Johnson, Matt Konieczny, Coty Milhausen, Mohamed Mohamed, Zakaria Mohamed, Austin Pakola, Mason Pomerleau, Dan Reeb, Jeremy Schendel, Brandon Schow, Eugene Stepan, Leyre Yanez, Abdishukri Yare, Jesse Zupke

FRESHMEN: Jacob Broberg, Matthew Gleaves, Matthew Glup, Matthew Hietzman, Ahmed Hussein, Alex Johannes, Luke Korthuis, Ibrahim Mohamed, Mowlid Mohamud, Christopher Odens, Jeremy Olson, Ahmed Diddiqui, William Wright

EIGHTH GRADE: Mohamud Abdullahi



Central Lakes Conference: 5th

Section 2AA: 2nd place


(Returning letterwinners in bold)

SENIORS: Ashley Bach, Lesley Christianson, Tianna Eckhart, Katherine Heng, Sarah Hund, Shelby Morton, Johanna Stromberg

JUNIORS: Mariel Aamot, Tina Bloch, Danielle Bredehoeft, Jayne Cole, Maria Contreras, Emily Ellingson, Danielle Erickson, Marianne Erickson, Caitlin Fritz, Jewels Hennessey, Dominique Hudson, Julie Hulstrand, Brianna Johnson, Jacqueline Johnson, Melissa Juetten, Naomi Lueders, Elisa Miller, Erin Sheehan, Samantha Thompson, Bridget Thorson.

SOPHOMORES: Brittney Anderson, Emily Bebler, Kayte Cole, Emily Dowdell, Rachel Eckhart, Paige Giesel, Angelina Gilland, Karlie Hoffer, Halie Larson, Katelyn Mehr, Sarah Malam

FRESHMEN: Marin Hanson, Christina Stegeman, Baylie Young

EIGHTH GRADE: Cassandra Johnson, Janessa Palmer

SEVENTH GRADE: Paige Kester, Kaitlyn Lawler

- Rand Middleton