Weather Forecast


Boys Golf: NLS' Freeland shoots 71 to win 3AA meet

Barret Freeland of New London-Spicer follows his putt on No. 10 at Eagle Creek Golf Club in Willmar on Thursday in the Section 3AAboys golf tournament. Tribune photo by Rand Middleton

WILLMAR -- Barret Freeland of New London-Spicer won the Section 3AA boys golf title Thursday at Eagle Creek Golf Club.

But Freeland's 71 couldn't carry the Wildcats to the team title. NLS fell to Luverne by five shots. Redwood Valley was third and Benson/KMS fourth.

Freeland shot a 3-under par 33 on the front nine, the lowest score of the tournament. He followed with a 38 on the back, but edged Luke Magnuson of Litchfield by two shots for the win.

Freeland, Magnuson and Yellow Medicine East's Taylor Olson and Tyler Jensvold, who shot a 74 and 75, respectively, qualified for the state Class AA tournament, which will be held June 16-17 at Ridges at Sand Creek Golf Course in Jordan.

Highlighting individual play was a hole-in-one by Joe Brinkman of Jackson County Central, a seventh-grader. He used a 7-iron to ace the par-3, 163-yard 16th hole.

Team scoring

(1) Luverne 312 (2) New London-Spicer 317 (3) Redwood Valley Area 327 (4) Benson/KMS 336

Area individual state qualifiers

Barret Freeland, NLS, 71; Luke Magnuson, Litchfield, 73; Taylor Olson, Yellow Medicine East, 74; Tyler Jensvold, Yellow Medicine East, 75

Area results

BENSON/KMS - Sam Peterson 79, Jordan Burns 82, Brody Gimberlain 87, Zach Maurer 88, Joe Orr 90, Dan Lee 96

BOLD - Nick Fiege 108

LITCHFIELD - Luke Magnuson 73, Josh Polingo 78, Jordan Redepenning 89

LQPV - Jordan Bendel 80

MONTEVIDEO - Phillip Ward 79, Tyler Sachariason 89, Ryan Knudson 93

MORRIS - Jordan Kolden 84

NLS - Barret Freeland 71, Joey Dreier 77, Reid Johnson 84, Ben Schlitter 85, Ryan Bergh 87, Joey Sissler 89

REDWOOD VALLEY - Taylor Hengel 77, Adam Hengel 79, J.T. Radel 80, Mitch Fischer 91, Brett Amberg 99, Derek Bebeau 100

YME - Taylor Olson 74, Tyler Jensvold 75

Section 2AAA

BUFFALO LAKE -- Prior Lake held off Eden Prairie by seven shots to win the Section 2AAA boys golf title Thursday at Oakdale Golf Club.

Prior Lake shot a 292 on the second day of competition, finishing with a 592. Eden Prairie had a 599.

Mitch Holm of Prior Lake won the individual title with a 145. The state qualifying cut was 149.

Grant Kallevig led Willmar's three players with a 158, including a round of 81 Thursday. Tony Kallevig carded an 83 to finish with a 162 and Matt Suedbeck shot a 95 and finished with a 176.

Team scoring

(1) Prior Lake 300-292-592 (2) Eden Prairie 300-299-599 (3) Chaska 311-299-610 (4) Chanhassen 307-309-616

Area results

WILLMAR - Grant Kallevig 77-81-158, Tony Kallevig 79-83-162, Matt Suedbeck 81-95-176