Weather Forecast


Dahlke to be honored with MWA award

BLOOMINGTON -- Leroy Dahlke, manager at the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources' wildlife office at Sibley State Park, will be honored as the Conservation Professional of the Year by the Minnesota Waterfowl Association during their hall of fame banquet Feb. 5 in Bloomington.

The MWA will induct seven men into its hall of fame and bestow its yearly awards.

The Minnesota Waterfowl Hall of Fame recognizes conservationists, hunters and others who have had an impact and lasting legacy on waterfowl hunting and waterfowl conservation in Minnesota.

The Class for 2011 includes: Robert Austin, Marvin Bernet, Harold Duebbert, Robert Jessen, John Komarek, David Maass, and William Stevens

The evening's celebration includes a formal dinner, and an awards presentation recognizing Minnesota Waterfowl Association chapters and individuals for their leadership in waterfowl conservation, as well as the presentation of the awards to the Minnesota Waterfowl Hall of Fame recipients.

The 2011 Minnesota Waterfowl Association Conservation Award winners are: Galen Otremba of Pierz, Conservationist Pioneer of the Year; Dahlke; Harlen Hendrickson of Detroit Lakes, Conservationist Citizen of the Year; and the Scott-LeSueur chapter for Chapter of the Year.

Tickets for the banquet are $35 in advance or $45 at the door. To make a reservation, please contact the Minnesota Waterfowl Association office at 952-767-0320 or