Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling Roundup: Paynesville upends BBE, BOLD at own triangular

PAYNESVILLE — A late seven-match win streak allowed Paynesville to cap a two-win evening as the Bulldogs upended BOLD 49-13 and Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 45-20 Thursday at a home triangular.

BBE won five of the first six matches against Paynesville before four pins — Andrew Kerzman at 145, Devin Meagher at 152, Michael Ludwig at 195 and Mitchell Floura at 220 — two forfeits and a decision at 160 from Jacob Mages propelled the Bulldogs into the lead. Damian Viessman also had a pin at 132 for Paynesville.

Kerzman, Meagher, Ludwig, Floura and Anthony Wendlandt were double winners for Paynesville.

BBE upended BOLD 42-34 in the other match with the help of four BOLD forfeits.

BBE 42, BOLD 34

106: Spencer Amundson, BB, won by forfeit

113: Kaleb Voss, BB, won by forfeit

120: Josey Tensen, BB, won by forfeit

126: Adam Jaeger, BB, dec Brett Grund 6-3

132: Benny Garcia, BO, pin Isaiah Gilbert 4:30

138: not available

145: Zach Malacek, BO, pin Treven Quade 5:22

152: Alex Schramel, BB, won by forfeit

160: Steven Mady, BB, pin Derrick Lothert 3:00

170: Jake Rauenhorst, BO, pin Trusting Ziemer 1:59

182: Ben Steffel, BO, maj Ben Thompson 12-4

195: Joel Erickson, BO, pin Joe Reller 1:49

220: Logan Nissen, BO, won by forfeit

285: Ben Feuerhake, BB, dec Manuel Garcia 3-0

Paynesville 45, BBE 20

106: Spencer Amundson, B, dec Shawn Rue 10-5

113: Kaleb Voss, B, dec Brandon Douglas 3-2

120: Josey Tensen, B, tcfl Jared Kuntsleben 19-3

126: Adam Jaeger, B, dec Jonathan Schaeffer 7-3

132: Damian Viessman, P, pin Isaiah Gilbert :30

138: Jonah Voss, B, dec Nick Gabrielson 14-8

145: Andrew Kerzman, P, pin Colby Schramel 5:25

152: Devin Meagher, P, pin Treven Quade 2:15

160: Jacob Mages, P, dec Alex Schramel 9-5

170: Jordan Karels, P, won by forfeit

182: Anthony Wendlandt, P, won by forfeit

195: Michael Ludwig, P, pin Steven Mady 1:29

220: Mitchell Floura, P, pin Joe Reller 2:21

285: Ben Feuerhake, B, dec Derek Ludwig 8-2

Paynesville 49, BOLD 13

106: Shawn Rue, P, won by forfeit

113: Brandon Douglas, P, pin Kyle Kostohryz 1:40

120: Garth Utsch, P, won by forfeit

126: Bret Grund, B, maj. dec. Jared Kunstleben 13-3

132: Benny Garcia, B, maj. dec. Jonathan Schaefer 24-11

138: Zach Malacek, B, dec. Damian Viessmann 10-5

145: Andrew Kerzman, P, maj. dec. Drew Maher 15-5

152: Devin Meagher, P, pin Derrick Lothert 6-1

160: Cameron Schmitz, P, Jake Rauenhorst 6-1

170: Jacob Mages, P, dec. Ben Steffel 3-2

182: Anthony Wendlandt, P, pin Joel Erickson 0:44

195: Michael Ludwig, P, pin Logan Nissen 0:30

220: Manuel Garcia, B, dec. Derek Ludwig 2-1

285: Mitchell Floura, P, dec. Zach Foesch 4-2

(BOLD penalized one team point)

West Central

Benson 50, Quad County 27

The teams combined to collect 11 falls with Benson getting 7 pins from Wyatt McGee at 113, Clay Molden at 120, Chase Young at 132, Aaron Zosel at 145, Bryce Goff at 152, Mitch Koosman at 160 and Trevor Berreau at 182 to gain the edge.

Isaac Rillo earned a technical fall at 126 while Mason Schmitz at 170, Zach Juarez at 195 and heavyweight Ethan Beckler notched pins for Quad County.

106: Jared Knutson, B, maj Jake Roiger 17-6

113: Wyatt McGee, B, pin Jordan Odegard 3:42

120: Clay Molden, B, pin Ethan Thein 1:13

126: Isaac Rillo, Q, tcfl Lane Geyer 23-8

132: Chase Young, B, pin Colten Specht :31

138: Grant Ascheman, B, maj Cole Hatch 10-0

145: Aaron Zosel, B, pin Kirby Winson :44

152: Bryce Goff, B, pin Dylan Johnson 3:03

160: Mitch Koosman, B, pin Wyatt Hatch 7:30

170: Mason Schmitz, Q, pin Cody Hammerschmidt 1:49

182: Trevor Berreau, B, pin Hayden Johnson 2:33

195: Zach Juarez, Q, pin R.J. Hogrefe 1:58

220: Zach Fischer, Q, maj Dakota Watkins 11-2

285: Ethan Beckler, Q, pin Ross Grussing 2:18


Zimmerman 35, Litchfield 34

Zimmerman earned points by injury default and a forfeit at 182 pounds and 195 pounds and Billy Johnson’s pin at 220 sealed the victory on Thursday.

Litchfield’s Derek Fruetel, Wyatt Kaping and Max Kaping won by pins, and Sam Tibbits earned a major decision at 113 pounds.

The Dragons host a nine-team invite beginning at 10 a.m. Saturday.

106: Nathan Thompson, Z, pin Jackson Penk

113: Sam Tibbits, L, maj. dec. Mitch Gagne 12-3

120: Nick Brahs, Z, dec. Justin Victoria 9-4

126: Derek Fruetel, L, pin Jacob Waalk

132: Tyler Jones, Z, dec. Trentin Milless 4-2

138: Hunter Smith, Z, tech fall Dylan Penk 21-6

145: Tristan Pettitt, Z, pin Ryan Anderson

152: Connor Hoff, L, dec. Chase Rosby 9-7 OT

160: Cody Klabunde, L, dec. Kaleb Kleiver 11-6

170: Wyatt Kaping, L, pin Justin Hartman

182: Calvin Waterhouse, Z, won by injury default over Joan Silverio

195: Austin May, Z, won by forfeit

220: Billy Johnson, Z, pin Ray Bell

285: Max Kaping, L, pin Ben Jensen