Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling: No. 10 Minneota clips No. 6 Fighting Saints

MINNEOTA — In a battle between two teams ranked in the top 10 in Class A, Minneota earned two more wins than Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg Thursday to collect a 33-25 victory in a non-conference dual.

The Vikings won 8 of 14 matches and also earned two more bonus points than the visiting Fighting Saints. Minneota won the first weights — with help of pins at 106 and 126 — take an early 18-0 lead. KMS wouldn’t ever take over the lead as the final margin was the closest KMS would get of the Vikings’ lead.

Cody Peters earned a major decision at 132 to get KMS on the board and teammate Aaron Collins followed two weights later with a pin early in the third period. Zach Carlson added a pin at 170, while Karter Van Heuveln at 182, Chase Norton at 220 and heavyweight Colton Kinney supplied decisions for KMS.

Minneota 33, KMS 25

106: Eric Hauswedell, M, pin Jacob Carlson 1:24

113: Brock Buysse, M, dec Caleb Collins 3-1

120: Brendan Reiss, M, dec Jonathan Tostenson 5-0

126: Landyn VanOverbeke, M, pin Casey Thorson 3:14

132: Cody Peters, K, maj Kollin Drietz 14-4

138: Bryce Bruner, M, dec Jordan Engler 5-2

145: Aaron Collins, K, pin Kael Jacobson 4:25

152: Alec Engler, M, pin Fred Mansfield :51

160: Nicholas Esping, M, dec Travis Lamacker 4-3

170: Zach Carlson, K, pin Grant Abraham 3:48

182: Karter Van Heuveln, K, dec Alec Bueltel 10-7

195: Nathan Bueltel, M, dec Israel Rodriguez 6-2

220: Chase Norton, K, dec Trent Esping 7-1

285: Colton Kinney, K, dec Jameson Hettling 3-0

ACGC Triangular


The Falcons got 36 points from six BOLD forfeits and another 12 points from pins at 152 from Derek Dengerud and 285 from Lucas Damm.

Joel Erickson picked up the lone BOLD win with a decision at 182.

106: Rylan Molinaro, A, won by forfeit

113: Brennen Holien, A, won by forfeit

120: A.J. Schmidt, A, won by forfeit

126: Cameron Whitcomb, A, dec Brett Grund 8-2

132: Tyler Berghuis, A, dec Benny Garcia 7-2

138: Jeremy Nelson, A, maj Drew Maher 9-0

145: Larry Bomstad, A, won by forfeit

152: Derek Dengerud, A, pin Derrick Lothert 1:39

160: Logan Peterson, A, won by forfeit

170: Jordan Nelson, A, dec Ben Steffel 4-2

182: Joel Erickson, B, dec Cody Berghuis 4-2

195: Maverick Whitcomb, A, won by forfeit

220: Jordan Fester, A, dec Manuel Garcia 4-1 OT

285: Lucas Damm, A, pin Zach Foesch 3:50

Benson 42, BOLD 33

Benson won only two contested matches — pins from Aaron Zosel at 145 and Mitch Koosman at 160 — as BOLD forfeited at five weights.

The Warriors got four pins: Benny Garcia at 132, Ben Steffel at 170, Manuel Garcia at 220 and Zach Foesch at 285.

106: Jared Knutson, Be, won by forfeit

113: Wyatt McGee, Be, won by forfeit

120: Kyle Kostohryz, BO, dec Clay Molden 6-5

126: Brett Grund, BO, dec Lane Geyer 10-3

132: Benny Garcia, BO, pin Chase Young :51

138: Grant Ascheman, Be, won by forfeit

145: Aaron Zosel, Be, pin Drew Maher :51

152: Bryce Goff, Be, won by forfeit

160: Mitch Koosman, Be, pin Derrick Lothert :41

170: Ben Steffel, BO, pin Matt Weiber 2:40

182: Joel Erickson, BO, dec Trevor Berreau 7-4

195: R.J. Hogrefe, Be, won by forfeit

220: Manuel Garcia, BO, pin Dakota Watkins 1:18

285: Zach Foesch, BO, pin Ross Grussing 3:01

ACGC 73, Benson 4

Tyler Berghuis at 132, Larry Bomstad at 145, Logan Peterson at 160, Cody Berghuis at 182, Maverick Whitcomb at 195 and Jordan Fester at 220 all earned pins for the No. 4-ranked (Class A) Falcons.

Grant Ascheman worked a major decision at 138 to earn Benson’s lone points.

106: Rylan Molinaro, A, maj Jared Knutson 9-1

113: Brennan Holien, A, won by forfeit

120: A.J. Schmidt, A, won by forfeit

126: Cameron Whitcomb, A, won by forfeit

132: Tyler Berghuis, A, pin Chase Young :32

138: Grant Ascheman, B, maj Jeremy Nelson 14-1

145: Larry Bomstad, A, pin Aaron Zosel 1:45

152: Derek Dengerud, A, dec Bryce Goff 4-0

160: Logan Peterson, A, pin Mitch Koosman 1:12

170: Sheldon Ramussen, A, won by injury default over Matt Wieber

182: Cody Berghuis, A, pin Trevor Berreau 2:35

195: Maverick Whitcomb, A, pin R.J. Hogrefe :51

220: Jordan Fester, A, pin Dakota Watkins 1:19

285: Lucas Damm, A, won by forfeit

Wright County

Glencoe-Silver Lake 37, New London-Spicer 21

After the teams split the first four matches, Glencoe-Silver Lake won six of the next seven matches to take control.

Collecting victories for NLS were Jakob Stageberg at 120, Tom Stageberg at 126, Treyton Austvold at 145, Luke Gould at 195 and heavyweight Brandon Knisley.

106: Tanner Chimliesk, G, dec Sam Stageberg 6-2

113: Jacob Jewett, G, won by forfeit

120: Jakob Stageberg, N, pin Kole Polzin 1:27

126: Tom Stageberg, N, dec Aaron Donnay 4-1

132: Alex Mielke, G, pin Ben Tiffany 4:51

138: Brandon Richter, G, maj Chris Schmitz 14-5

145: Treyton Austvold, N, dec Michael Donnay 7-5

152: Nate Tesch, G, dec Logan Eckhoff 9-5

160: Nick Brejle, G, dec Jarrett Hatlestad 11-9

170: Tristan Weber, G, dec Jared Travis 6-4

182: John Williams, G, dec Zach Swigerd 6-3

195: Luke Gould, N, dec Colton Lueders 11-7

220: Peyton Sell, G, pin Israel Medina :33

285: Brandon Knisley, N, won by forfeit

Hutchinson 45, NL-Spicer 27

New London-Spicer got pins from the Stagebergs and Jarrett Hatlestad at 160, but forfeited at three other weights.

Austvold at 145, Jared Travis at 170 and Knisley at 285 added decisions for the Wildcats.

106: Brock Luthens, H, won by forfeit

113: Dylan Pundsack, H, won by forfeit

120: J. Stageberg, N, pin Logan Wadsworth :25

126: T. Stageberg, N, pin Riley Drew 5:12

132: Tyler Karl, H, pin Dylan Peterson 1:42

138: Tryston Kostelecky, H, pin Schmitz 2:49

145: Austvold, N, dec Luke Pundsack 4-1

152: Chris Schmidt, H, dec Eckhoff 9-3

160: Hatlestad, N, pin Ethan Link :20

170: Travis, N, dec Gregor Fraser 7-1

182: Gannon Jordahl, H, pin Swigerd 3:27

195: Paxton Jordahl, H, pin Gould 3:12

220: Jake Filk, H, won by forfeit

285: Knisley, N, dec Jacob VanderHeiden 8-4

Dassel-Cokato 46, Litchfield 26

Litchfield got a pin from Tyler Jones at 132, a technical fall from Nick Brahs at 120, a decision from Logan Nelson at 113 and a Dassel-Cokato forfeit at 106 to take a quick 20-6 lead. But the Chargers bolted ahead by winning eight straight matches to seize control.

Max Kaping earned the Dragons’ only other win with a pin early in the second period at 285.

106: Jackson Penk, L, won by forfeit

113: Logan Nelson, L, dec Blake Braunworth 2-0

120: Nick Brahs, L, tcfl Brody Schmidt 15-0

126: Alex Bapp, D, pin Derek Fruetel 1:40

132: Tyler Jones, L, pin Connor Peterson 1:15

138: Tom Keskey, D, pin Dylan Penk 3:34

145: Jack Anderson, D, maj Ryan Anderson 15-3

152: Cameron Steffens, D, dec Connor Hoff 7-5 OT

160: Tom Halonen, D, dec Cody Klabunde 8-6 OT

170: Michael Leffler, D, pin Joan Silverio 2:50

182: Cole Schmidt, D, pin Wyatt Kaping 5:52

195: Aaron Aho, D, pin Ray Bell 2:40

220: Jacob Brost, D, won by forfeit

285: Max Kaping, L, pin Logan Polzin 2:45