Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling Roundup: Falcons overwhelm NLS

GROVE CITY — Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City won 11 matches — four by New London-Spicer forfeits — to roll to a 58-14 non-conference win over the Wildcats Tuesday.

NLS forfeited at 106 and 113 to open the dual before Jakob Stageberg collected a pin at 120 and Tom Stageberg earned a 6-4 decision at 126 for the Wildcats. Tyler Berghuis then notched a pin at 132 for the Falcons and Treyton Austvold worked a 15-0 technical decision at 138 for NLS to put the score at 18-14 in the Falcons’ favor.

ACGC then won the last eight matches to nail down the rout.

Larry Bomstad at 152, Logan Peterson at 160 and Maverick Whitcomb at 182 added pins for ACGC. Jordan Fester at 220 and heavyweight Lucas Damm closed out the match by collecting one-point decisions for the Class A No. 2-ranked Falcons.

ACGC has the remainder of the week off until it competes in the West Central Conference tournament on Saturday in Montevideo. NLS is at Annandale on Thursday to battle Delano and Orono at a Wright County Conference Double Dual.

ACGC 58, NL-Spicer 14

106: Rylan Molinaro, A, won by forfeit

113: Brennan Holien, A, won by forfeit

120: Jakob Stageberg, N, pin Jacob Whitcomb 2:33

126: Tom Stageberg, N, dec Cameron Whitcomb 6-4

132: Tyler Berghuis, A, pin Ben Tiffany 1:32

138: Treyton Austvold, N, tcfl Jeremy Nelson 15-0

145: Tylor Mortenson, A, won by forfeit

152: Larry Bomstad, A, pin Logan Eckhoff 1:57

160: Logan Peterson, A, pin Wade Jacobsen 1:00

170: Sheldon Rasmussen, A, maj Jared Travis 10-1

182: Maverick Whitcomb, A, pin Zach Swigerd 1:22

195: Cody Berghuis, A, won by forfeit

220: Jordan Fester, A, dec Noah Welsh 2-1

285: Lucas Damm, A, dec Brandon Knisley 3-2

BOLD 45, River Valley 28

Brett Grund (126), Drew Maher (132), Derrick Lothert (152) and Trevor Nissen (285) each won by pin for BOLD.

106: Double forfeit

113: Devin Johnson, R, pin Kyle Kolstohryz 1:00

120: Tyson Meidl, R, won by forfeit

126: Brett Grund, B, pin Conner Bertram 3:47

132: Drew Maher, B, pin James Ploeger 3:55

138: Sam Baier, R, dec Benny Garcia 12-3

145: Gerritt Meidl, R, won by forfeit

152: Derrick Lothert, B, pin Gage Gardner 0:28

160: Jake Rauenhorst, B, won by forfeit

170: Ben Steffel, B, won by forfeit

182: Tim Krueger, R, pin Joel Erickson 5:45

195: Austin Einerson, B, dec Nathaniel Rosado 15-9

220: Manuel Garica, B, won by forfeit

285: Trevor Nissen, B, pin Tyler Baird 0:52

United Triangular

United 54, Paynesville 15

No. 11-ranked United (Dawson-Boyd/Lac qui Parle Valley/Montevideo) won 11 matches with four coming by fall, Payton Mortonson at 106, Jordan Bothun at 120, Bailey Eickhoff at 126 and Spencer Sulflow at 132.

Anthony Wendlandt at 170 and Derek Ludwig at 220 had pins for Paynesville.

106: Payton Mortonson, U, tcfl Shawn Rue 21-5

113: Donny Bothun, U, maj Alex Mages 17-5

120: Jordan Bothun, U, pin Jared Kunstleben 4:23

126: Bailey Eickhoff, U, pin Jonathan Schaeffer 3:18

132: Spencer Suflow, U, pin Nick  Gabrielson 0:59

138: Logan Knoshal, U, won by forfeit

145: Mitch Kwilinski, U, dec Andrew  Kerzman 4-2

152: Mason Kwilinski, U, dec Devin Meagher 9-8

160: Keith Abraham, U, dec Jacob Mages 5-2

170: Anthony Wendlandt, P, pin Wyatt Ireland 2:56

182: Joe Weeding, U, won by forfeit

195: Michael Ludwig, P, dec Markus Kranz 9-7

220: Derek Ludwig, P, pin David Nelson 1:20

285: Jake Lehmann, U, won by forfeit

Minneota 56, Paynesville 21

Paynesville’s Anthony Wendlandt (170), Michael Ludwig (182) and Derek Ludwig (195) each won by pin. The Bulldogs’ other win came from Jacob Mages’ decision at 160.

106: Brock Buysse, M, pin Shawn  Rue 0:39

113: Eric Hauswedell, M, pin Alex Mages 1:35

120: Kyle Hennen, M, pin Jared  Kunstleben 2:43

126: Landyn VanOverbeke, M, pin Jonathan Schaeffer 1:00

132: Leo Buysse, M, pin Nick  Gabrielson 0:54

138: Bryce Bruner, M, won by forfeit

145: Alec Engler, M, maj Andrew  Kerzman 16-2

152: Nicholas Esping, M, maj Devin Meagher 9-0

160: Jacob Mages, P, dec Cole Hennen 4-2

170: Anthony Wendlandt, P, pin Grant Abraham 2:20

182: Michael Ludwig, P, pin Nathan Bueltel 1:19

195: Derek Ludwig, P, pin Alexander Hencke 2:48

220: Trent Esping, M, won by forfeit

285: Jordan Twedt, M, won by forfeit

Minneota 33, United 20

Jake Lehmann at 285 won by pin, one of five wins for United as they lost to No. 5-ranked Minneota.

106:  Brock Buysse, M, maj Payton Mortonson 17-7

113: Eric Hauswedell, M, dec Donny Bothun 6-4

120: Jordan Bothun, U, dec Kyle Hennen 5-0

126: Landyn VanOverbeke, M, dec Bailey Eickhoff 6-0

132: Spencer Suflow, U, dec Leo Buysse 6-3

138: Logan Knoshal, U, dec Bryce Bruner 3-2

145: Alec Engler, M, maj dec Mitch Kwilinski 14-3

152: Nicholas Esping, M, pin Mason Kwilinski 4:49

160: Grant Abraham, M, dec Keith Abraham 8-2

170: Cole Hennen, M, maj Wyatt Ireland 8-0

182: Joe Weeding, U, tcfl Alec Bueltel 18-3

195: Nathan Bueltel, M, dec Anthony Quigley 6-5

220: Trent Esping, M, dec David Nelson 5-1

285: Jake Lehmann, U, pin Jordan Twedt 1:52