Weather Forecast


Wrestling: MACCRAY's late surge sinks Montevideo, 38-35

Levi Berends, right, of MACCRAY twists Joe Bednar of Montevideo during their 135-pound match Tuesday at Maynard. Berends went on to collect a 18-3 technical fall to get MACCRAY with six. Tribune photo by T.J. Bartelt

MAYNARD -- Thomas Uttermark's second-period pin at 215 pounds secured a 38-35 win over Montevideo in a non-conference match Tuesday.

MACCRAY took an early 7-0 lead on Zach Hauser's 10-7 decision at 103 and Colton Berends' 14-4 major decision at 112. Montevideo then got pins from Mitch Kwilinski at 119, Tim Macziewski at 125 and Josh Anderson at 130 to go up 18-7.

MACCRAY's Levi Berends at 135 and Montevideo's Jesse Mijares at 140 then traded technical falls before MACCRAY got back-to-back wins on Taylor Bodin's pin at 145 and Matt Friese's major decision at 152 to get within four at 23-19.

Isaac Sulflow expanded Montevideo's lead to 29-19 with a pin at 160, but MACCRAY then went on a 16-0 run to stay ahead for good. Montevideo forfeited at 171 before MACCRAY got a 10-0 major decision from Mitch Rosendahl at 189 and a pin from Uttermark.

MACCRAY 38, Montevideo 35

103: Zach Hauser, MAC, dec Jake Bednar 10-7

112: Colton Berends, MAC, maj Austin Hiepler 14-4

119: Mitch Kwilinksi, Mon, pin Aaron Jaenisch 5:03

125: Tim Macziewski, Mon, pin Christian Morris :30

130: Josh Anderson, Mon, pin Jacob Leese :22

135: Levi Berends, MAC, tcfl Joe Bednar 18-3

140: Jesse Mijares, Mon, tcfl Ben Bonnema 16-1

145: Taylor Bodin, MAC, pin Tanner Lindeman 1:08

152: Matt Friese, MAC, maj Thomas Stoeckman 16-6

160: Isaac Sulflow, Mon, pin Brent Jaenisch 1:38

171: Travis Jaenisch, MAC, won by forfeit

189: Mitch Rosendahl, MAC, maj Garrett Norby 10-0

215: Thomas Uttermark, MAC, pin Colton Anderson 2:24

285: Jordan Solting, Mon, won by forfeit

BBE 48, Melrose 27

Four consecutive pins from Travis Winter at 152 pounds, Ben Borgerding at 160, Anthony Rooney at 171 and Sean Speldrich at 189 allowed Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa to stretch a nine-point lead to a 48-15 advantage.

Austin Jaeger at 112, Josh Beier at 125 and Cole Tensen at 140 also earned pins for the Jaguars as all eight wins for BBE were by falls.

103: Grant Deuvel, M, won by forfeit

112: Austin Jaeger, B, pin Anthony Banitt 2:51

119: Jeremy Harms, M, pin Danelle Baker :46

125: Josh Beier, B, pin Phil Rudde 1:05

130: Patrick Rooney, B, pin Ryan Sand 3:38

135: Double forfeit

140: Cole Tensen, B, pin Diego Hernandez :36

145: Justin Harms, M, dec Dillon Knutson 5-1

152: Travis Winter, B, pin Saul Elfering :40

160: Ben Borgerding, B, pin Chris Rausch 4:57

171: Anthony Rooney, B, pin Kyle Bertram :18

189: Sean Speldrich, B, pin Marcus Homkry 3:11

215: Colton Braun, M, won by forfeit

285: Donaldo Martinez, M, won by forfeit

Benson 66, Ortonville 12

Joe Weber at 103 pounds, Morgan Staton at 112, Jesse Lundebrek at 130, Brady Wersinger at 152, Andrew Carruth at 171, Chris Carruth at 189, Justin Golden at 215 and Dalton Staton at 285 all earned pins for Benson.

David Tweten at 140 and Brandon Hanson at 145 earned decisions for Benson, which also won at 119 and 135 from Ortonville forfeits.

103: Joe Weber, B, pin Colby Gimmestad 1:08

112: Morgan Staton, B, pin Isaac Cloos 1:17

119: Ben Lundebrek, B, won by forfeit

125: John Eustice, O, pin Josh Frentzel 3:57

130: Jesse Lundebrek, B, pin Andrew Dittel 1:28

135: Brett Hoffman, B, won by forfeit

140: David Tweten, B, dec Damian Pillatzki 8-2

145: Brandon Hanson, B, dec Jordan Roggenbuck 16-10

152: Brady Wersinger, B, pin Travis Diekmann 1:39

160: Jason Roggenbuck, O, pin Jim Huston :58

171: Andrew Carruth, B, pin Aaron Skinner 3:37

189: Chris Carruth, B, pin Isaac Nelson :25

215: Justin Golden, B, pin Dimitri Cumeo :55

285: Dalton Staton, B, pin William Kaiser 3:34

Wabasso 34, YME 32

The Sting had a 28-9 lead through eight matches, but Wabasso won five of the last six for the victory. Casey Field at 140 pounds and Justin Tongen at 145 earned back-to-back pins to give Yellow Medicine East a double-digit lead.

Evan Knudsen at 103, Levi Specht at 112 and Dylan Hoffman at 130 earned decisions for YME.

103: Evan Knudsen, Y, dec Brandon Goblirsch 7-1

112: Levi Specht, Y, maj Tanner Rohlik 9-0

119: Cody Schunck, W, won by forfeit

125: Austen Cole, Y, won by forfeit

130: Dylan Hoffman, Y, dec Dallas Stage 6-3

135: Mitchell Rohlik, W, dec Dustin Baker 8-3

140: Casey Field, Y, pin Jacob Rohlik 3:14

145: Justin Tongen, Y, pin Matt Arnold 1:14

152: Joel Grave, W, maj Mason Hegna 11-3

160: Zach Rohlik, W, pin Blake Dandurand 4:59

171: Cody Welch, W, dec Derek Dyrdahl 5-1

189: Jon Knott, W, won by forfeit

215: Jacob Welch, W, pin Cody Sander, no time available

285: Evan Stock, Y, maj Adam Schroepfer, 12-4