Weather Forecast


Wrestling: NLS easily advances to 6AA semis

NEW LONDON -- After clipping Willmar 35-27 in the first round, Big Lake was no match for New London-Spicer as the Wildcats rolled to a 49-16 win in the Section 6AA quarterfinals Tuesday.

The No. 2-seeded Wildcats will now meet Dassel-Cokato in the semifinals Friday in Big Lake. The final is also Friday.

Dassel-Cokato beat Litchfield 40-24 in the quarterfinals after Litchfield upended Annandale/Maple Lake 42-21 in the first round. No report from Litchfield was provided.

NLS 49, Big Lake 16

NLS got pins from Ben Henle at 103 pounds, Chase Austvold at 112, Shawn Hatlestad at 135, Luke Reiter at 145, Matt Melbie at 160 and John Nething at 171.

103: Ben Henle, N, pin Devon Donais 4:42

112: Chase Austvold, N, pin Dalton Sonenstahl 2:43

119: Joe Rathmanner, B, maj Cameron Steffen 10-2

125: Matt Nelson, B, dec Dylan Hanson 9-7

130: Tanner Tobkin, N, maj Cole Knaeble 11-3

135: Shawn Hatlestad, N, pin Cody Knaeble 1:02

140: Kyle Cappelen, N, dec Dylan Thao 4-3

145: Luke Reiter, N, pin Josh Atencio 3:32

152: Billy Dean, N, dec Dan Brown 5-3

160: Matt Melbie, N, pin Michael Krueger 3:16

171: John Nething, N, pin Ben McCormick :39

189: Dustin Rost, B, dec Tom Duscher 6-1

215: Chris Pfau, N, dec Matt Weitzel 8-3

285: Andrew Bradley, B, won by forfeit

Big Lake 35, Willmar 27

Nathaniel Swoyer's pin at 171 pounds gave Willmar a 24-23 lead, but Big Lake then won two of the final three matches.

Alex Johannes at 112, Seth Pollack at 119, Coty Milhausen at 135, Mason Pomerleau at 140, Cody Stegeman at 160 and Lucas Kremer at 215 also won for Willmar.

103: Devon Donais, B, dec Nate Mittag 11-5

112: Alex Johannes, W, dec Dalton Sonnsnstahl 2-1

119: Seth Pollack, W, dec Joe Rathmanner 7-5

125: Andrew Presser, B, dec Zach Morris 7-1

130: Matt Nelson, B, tcfl Adam Fagerstrom 20-3

135: Coty Milhausen, W, pin Cole Knaeble 1:24

140: Mason Pomerleau, W, dec Cody Knaeble 6-0

145: Dylan Thao, B, pin Eugene Stepan 3:27

152: Josh Atello, B, pin Shawn Johnson 4:47

160: Cody Stegeman, W, dec Dan Brown 3-0

171: Nathaniel Swoyer, W, pin Ben McCormick 1:58

189: Dustin Rost, B, pin Taylor Neumann 1:45

215: Lucas Kremer, W, dec Matt Weitzel 10-9

285: Andrew Bradley, B, won by forfeit