Weather Forecast


Wrestling: ACGC, Paynesville reach 5A semis

Top-seeded Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City and No. 2 seed Paynesville rolled to the semifinals after both collected routs in the Section 5A quarterfinals Tuesday.

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City lost just three matches in its 62-10 win over Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted and Paynesville had no problems eliminating Holdingford in a 41-19 win.

Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City will meet Eden Valley-Watkins in one semifinal Friday in Kimball and Paynesville will battle with either Kimball or Browerville/Eagle Valley in the other semifinal. The final is also Friday.

Minnewaska beat Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 39-23 in the first round before falling to Eden Valley-Watkins 35-34 in the quarterfinals. No information was provided on that match.

ACGC 62, HLWW 10

The Falcons won the first nine matches to take a comfortable 50-0 lead.

Jesse Whitcomb at 103 pounds, Hayden Rouser at 112, Matt Lee at 11, Dan Fuchs at 125, Scott Litzau at 130, Nate Meyer at 145, Micah Larson at 171 and Dylan Nelson at 285 all had pins for the Falcons.

103: Jesse Whitcomb, A, pin Chris Cox 4:32

112: Hayden Rouser, A, pin Brandon Maas 1:37

119: Matt Lee, A, pin Dylan Youngren 1:13

125: Dan Fuchs, A, pin Josiah Reimer 1:29

130: Scott Litzau, A, pin William Schanus 5:27

135: Matt Meyer, A, dec Tony Horstman 9-4

140: Ryan Larson, A, won by forfeit

145: Nate Meyer, A, pin Joel Hausladen 3:50

152: Travis Frederiksen, A, won by forfeit

160: Derek Youngren, H, dec Travis Whitcomb 1-0

171: Micah Larson, A, pin Terry Berke 3:02

189: John Long, H, maj Deron Buboltz 13-2

215: Matt Marketon, H, dec James Nelson 3-1

285: Dylan Nelson, A, pin Joel Koch :57

Paynesville 41, Holdingford 19

Dylan Sheridan at 112 pounds and Brent Schlangen at 130 had the only falls for Paynesville.

103: Derek Scott, H, maj Cole Woehler 9-0

112: Dylan Sheridan, P, pin Tyler Scwartz 5:32

119: Mike Jarnot, H, dec Trevor Spanier 4-1

125: Luke Doll, H, dec Josh Hiepler 5-2

130: Brent Schlangen, P, tcfl Kyle Kolstad 18-3

135: Devin Scott, H, dec Jon Kerzman 11-5

140: Aaron Gehrke, P, dec Andrew Kunstleben 5-1

145: Justin Wendlandt, P, maj Vic Lumley 13-2

152: Eric Wolbeck, P, maj Brice Feia 11-2

160: Tyler Hemmesch, P, dec Kyle Jarnot 5-0

171: Mike Doom, P, won by forfeit

189: Andrew Moser, P, maj Brad Hedlund 15-1

215: John Seepaniak, H, pin Trey Stanger 5:19

285: Dominic Platow, P, won by forfeit

Minnewaska 39, BBE 23

Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa had a 23-21 lead after 11 matches were completed, but Minnewaska won the final three -- two by forfeits -- to advance to the quarterfinals.

103: Jacob Braaten, M, pin Ross Rath 5:38

112: Gary Steffenson, M, dec Danelle Baker 11-10

119: Grant Winter, M, won by forfeit

125: Josh Beier, B, maj Justin Roggenkamp 16-3

130: Patrick Rooney, B, dec Zach Steffenson 7-4

135: Brent Goodenbour, B, maj Hunter Wollschlager 17-3

140: Cole Tensen, B, dec Cam Schafer 6-2

145: Anderson Clare, M, dec Dillon Knutson 8-4

152: Collin Jurgenson, M, dec Travis Winter 7-2

160: Ben Borgerding, B, dec Pat Krueger 7-6

171: Anthony Rooney, B, pin Tyrel Swensrud :42

189: Brandon Manderscheid, M, pin Sean Speldrich :12

215: David Cowen, M, won by forfeit

285: Micah Klemme, M, won by forfeit