Weather Forecast


Wrestling: ACGC falls, will wrestle for third today

Micah Larson of Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City, left, tries to control Aaron Dahlgren of Kenyon Wanamingo in their team semifinal match Friday in St. Paul. Larson won the 171-pound match, 18-4. Photo by Michael Vosburg, Fargo Forum

ST. PAUL -- For the second year in a row, Kenyon-Wanamingo got the drop on Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City.

The Knights busted out in front 27-6 in the Class A semifinal match Friday and went on to beat the Falcons, 42-17.

It was a more exciting match than the final score indicated.

Falcons wrestlers lost three matches by a total of five points and a fourth decision by four points.

The Knights last year upended ACGC in the consolation semifinals, 34-26.

No. 3-seed ACGC wrestles No. 4 Medford for third place at 10 a.m. today at the Xcel Energy Center.

Kenyon-Wanamingo, the No. 2 seed behind KMS, used its four state qualifiers at the top of their lineup to build a quick lead. They'd done the same in the quarterfinals, leading Frazee 25-0 on the way to winning 35-22.

The Knights' Oakley McLain beat another state qualifier, Hayden Rouser, 12-3 at 112 pounds for a 9-0 lead. Larry Bomstad put up a good fight at 119, but fell to state qualifier Chad Lexvold.

Scott Litzau won by pin to get the Falcons on the board, but Drew Lexvold had moved up to 130 and nullified the gain with a pin for Kenyon-Wanamingo.

The string of close losses began with Matt Meyer losing 8-4 at 135, Mike Kramer lost 2-0 in overtime and Ryan Larson lost 8-6 at 145. That left ACGC in a 21-point hole with six matches left.

Travis Frederiksen and Micah Larson got major decisions and Deron Buboltz added a 9-7 decision down the stretch, which also saw Travis Whitcomb get squeezed out 6-5 at 160 pounds.

The Falcons (24-3), state champions in 2007, were making their seventh trip since 2002. Their only losses this year have been to teams in today's championship matches: KMS, Kenyon-Wanamingo and Foley, which will meet Simley in the AA final.

Kenyon-Wanamingo 42, ACGC 17

103: Mitchel Lexvold, K, tcfl Jessie Whitcomb 18-2

112: Oakley McLain, K, maj Hayden Rouser 12-3

119: Chad Lexvold, K, dec Larry Bomstad 6-3

125: Scott Litzau, A, pin Tyler Jackson 1:24

130: Drew Lexvold, K, pin Daniel Fuchs 5:03

135: Guy Wunderlich, K, dec Matthew Meyer 8-4

140: Skyler Quamme, K, dec Michael Kramer 2-0, ot

145: Jake Baalson, K, dec Ryan Larson 8-6

152: Travis Frederiksen, A, maj Derek Melhouse 12-2

160: Jarid Groth, K, dec Travis Whitcomb 6-5

171: Micah Larson, A, maj Aaron Dahlgren 18-4

189: Josh Jacobson, K, pin James Nelson :51

215: Deron Buboltz, A, dec Caleb Langer 9-7

285: Luke Hainka, K, pin Dylan Nelson 1:00