Weather Forecast


Five from area on All-State softball team

Brandi Bodin and Ashley Forstrom of MACCRAY, Nicole Pedersen of Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg, Sara Beyer of Morris Area and Jessica Klein of Paynesville were all selected to the Minnesota Softball Coaches Association All-State teams.

Bodin is a senior catcher and Forstrom a senior second baseman. Both were also selected to play in the 21st annual Minnesota High Schol Softball Series on June 7 at Caswell Park in North Mankato.

Bodin batted .505 this season with 14 doubles, four triples, five home runs and 23 RBI. Forstrom hit .541 wuth 15 doubles, six triples, one home run and 30 RBI.

Pedersen is a senior first baseman/pitcher for the Fighting Saints. She batted .349 with nine doubles and 19 RBI, while going 1-0 with an 0.70 ERA in 10 innings of pitching.

No statistics were available for Beyer.

Those four were selected to the All-State team in Class A.

In Class AA, Klein batted .547 for Paynesville with 10 doubles, two triples, five home runs and 26 RBI.

Klein, Beyer, Pedersen and Sarah Carlson of KMS were also selected to the All-Star Series.