Weather Forecast


NLS takes Mora out with sweep

Taylor Thompsen, second from left, and Alanna Dietz, third from left, of New London-Spicer go up for a block against an attack from Alyssa Wallace of Mora during the second game of their West Central North Conference volleyball match Monday at New London. Tribune photo by T.J. Bartelt1 / 2
Justine Dammermann, right, of New London-Spicer goes up for a kill while Alyssa Wallace of Mora attempts a block Monday at New London. Tribune photo by T.J. Bartelt2 / 2

NEW LONDON -- New London-Spicer began the 2009 volleyball season with a 25-18, 25-13, 27-25 win over Mora in West Central North Conference action Monday.

The Wildcats started slowly, trailing by a couple of points midway through the first game, but finished with a flourish and carried that momentum into the second game.

Mora started to gain some confidence to start the third game, but New London-Spicer closed out the win without having to go to a fourth game.

The Wildcats, 23-7 last season, returned all but one player to their starting lineup this season, losing Brianna Jacobson to graduation and Ridgewater College.

Taylor Thompsen, one of five seniors starting for New London-Spicer, led the way with eight kills, followed by seniors Justine Dammermann and Karli Wendlandt with five each.

Karsee Knutson, a junior, served five aces. Thompsen had five ace blocks, Dammermann had 23 set assists and Wendlandt recorded 10 digs.

NL-Spicer 3, Mora 0

Mora 18 13 25

NLS 25 25 27

(Key: good-attempts-aces)


Statistics not available

New London-Spicer

Serving: Justine Dammermann 9-11-0, Taylor Thompsen 5-6-0, Cassie Ziemer 9-11-0, Karli Wendlandt 11-11-1, Jenna Moritz 5-5-0, Hannah Setterberg 1-2-0, Karsee Knutson 14-16-5 ... Setting: Dammermann 59-62-23, Knutson 15-16-3 ... Hitting: Dammermann 10-13-5, Thompsen 20-23-8, Ziemer 8-8-3, Wendlandt 12-15-5, Moritz 2-2-0, Setterberg 1-1-0, Alanna Dietz 5-6-2, Knutson 6-10-1 ... Blocking (aces): Dammermann 1, Thompsen 5, Ziemer 2, Wendlandt 4, Dietz 1, Knutson 1 ... Digs: Dammermann 7, Thompsen 4, Ziemer 5, Wendlandt 10, Moritz 8, Setterberg 2, Dietz 3, Knutson 9