Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Foley clips NL-Spicer to capture WCN title

NEW LONDON -- Foley lost only three matches Tuesday en route to beating New London-Spicer 39-13 to claim the West Central North Conference title.

Three decisions separated by six-or-less points to open the dual were won by Foley as the visiting Falcons took a quick 9-0 lead. Chase Austvold then won a 12-1 major decision at 125 pounds to give NLS its first win.

Foley would answer with a major decision of its own and a 4-3 decision at 135 to extend its lead to 16-4. Shawn Hatlestad then notched a pin midway through the second period for NLS at 140, but the Falcons would win six of the final seven matches to seal the win.

After two more major decisions gave Foley a comfortable 24-10 lead, the Falcons would get two one-point wins and two other wins that were separated by just four points. They would also get a pin at 215.

John Nething got the other win for the Wildcats with a 5-1 decision at 160.

Foley 39, NLS 13

103: Keith Thell, F, dec Ben Henle 5-1

112: Mitch Dunlap, F, dec Treyton Austvold 4-1

119: Taylor Rothfork, F, dec Logan Brink 7-1

125: Chase Austvold, N, maj Sam Keeler 12-1

130: Will Sustercich, F, maj Cameron Steffen 12-2

135: Mark Gehling, F, dec Dylan Hanson 4-3

140: Shawn Hatlestad, N, pin Tyler Bemboom 2:57

145: Brandon Seppelt, F, maj Tanner Tobkin 14-5

152: Zach Jackson, F, maj Cody Haugen 17-6

160: John Nething, N, dec Taylor Lewandowski 5-1

171: Matt Beehler, F, dec Kyle Cappelen 4-0

189: Justin Bowland, F, dec Tom Duscher 3-2

215: Tyler Lewandowski, F, pin Chris Pfau 3:33

285: Jordan Bialke, F, dec Zach Borka 3-2


Marshall 45, MACCRAY 31

Zach Hauser at 112 pounds, Taylor Bodin at 160 and Tanner Bedel at 215 had pins for MACCRAY.

The match between MACCRAY and Wabasso/Red Rock Central was not provided to the Tribune at press time.

103: Riley Roth, Mar, pin Evan Sutter 2:53

112: Zach Hauser, MAC, pin Brent Breczinski 2:58

119: Alex Prorok, Mar, pin Colton Berends 2:27

125: Derek Varpness, Mar, pin Simon Torres 1:44

130: Taylor Beens, Mar, won by forfeit

135: Neil Citrowski, Mar, pin Christian Morris 1:52

140: Todd Hennen, Mar, won by forfeit

145: Eli Louwagie, Mar, dec Matt Friese 10-4

152: Ben Bonnema, MAC, dec Campbell Hofsetter 10-9

160: Taylor Bodin, MAC, pin Stephen Campbel 3:11

171: Brent Jaenisch, MAC, maj Steven Womack 17-5

189: Jared Holland, Mar, pin Travis Jaenisch 4:53

215: Tanner Bedel, MAC, pin Justin Varpness 3:28

285: Nick Kellen, MAC, won by forfeit