Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Foley clips NLS in 6AA championship

LITTLE FALLS -- Foley proved to be too much for New London-Spicer in the Section 6AA wrestling team final Friday.

The Falcons beat the Wildcats for the second time this season 36-19 to advance to the Class AA tournament.

The state tournament is March 4-6 at Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul.

Pairings for the tournament will be determined after the section winners will be seeded by the winning coaches.

The Wildcats beat Dassel-Cokato in the semifinals 34-30 earlier in the day. Foley topped Little Falls 50-15 in the other semifinal.


New London-Spicer 34, Dassel-Cokato 30

The Wildcats had built up a big enough lead after John Nething won a 171 pounds by technical fall to survive three straight wins from Dassel-Cokato.

Ben Henle at 103 and Shawn Hatlestad at 140 also had falls for New London-Spicer

103: Ben Henle, N, tf Brady Peterson 18-1

112: Max Anderson, D, maj Trey Austvold 10-1

119: Brandon Fiedler, D, dec Logan Brink 9-3

125: Chase Austvold, N, maj Kyle Johnson 13-3

130: Zach Peterson, D, pin Nolan Schmitz 1:07

135: Dylan Hanson, N, dec Tyler Dobmeier 9-4

140: Shawn Hatlestad, N, pin Brett Abrahamson :40

145: David Nething, N, dec Dan Wanha 13-8

152: Cody Jakobson, N, maj Tom Halonen 15-1

160: Kyle Cappelen, N, maj Andrew Madson 16-3

171: John Nething, N, tf Grant Peterson 22-7

189: Tyler Irvin, D, pin Tom Duscher 7:08

215: Dakota Hanson, D, tf Chris Pfau 15-0

285: Sam Pokornowski, D, pin Zach Borka 3:46


Foley 36, NL-Spicer 19

The Falcons recorded four wins by technical fall.

The Wildcats' wins came from Chase Austvold at 125 pounds, Dylan Hanson at 135, Shawn Hatlestad at 140, John Nething at 160, Tom Duscher at 189 and Zach Borka at heavyweight. Each NLS win was by decision with Hanson's being a major.

103: Keith Thell, F, dec Ben Henle 5-2

112: Mitch Dunlap, F, dec Treyton Austvold 8-1

119: Taylor Rothfork, F, maj Logan Brink 8-0

125: Chase Austvold, N, dec Sam Keeler 8-2

130: Will Sustercich, F, pin Elliot Eckhoff :38

135: Dylan Hanson, N, maj Mark Gehling 12-4

140: Shawn Hatlestad, N, dec Chevy Gobel 9-3

145: Brandon Seppelt, F, tf David Nething 32-14

152: Zach Jackson, F, tf Cody Jakobson 21-6

160: John Nething, N, dec Taylor Lewandowski 8-5

171: Justin Bowland, F, tf Kyle Cappelen 24-9

189: Tom Duscher, N, dec Matt Beehler 9-3

215: Tyler Lewandowski, F, tf Chris Pfau 21-5

285: Zach Borka, N, dec Jordan Bialke, no score