Weather Forecast


Tennis: Benson sinks Montevideo

BENSON -- A sweep in doubles and split in singles allowed Benson to beat Montevideo 5-2 Thursday in the season and West Central South Conference openers for both teams in boys tennis.

Luke Widseth-Mike Goulet at 1-doubles, Mads Pajbjerg-Sam Grace at 2-doubles and Jake Hanson-Lars Hering at 3-doubles all won in straight sets for Benson. Brandon Edlund at 3-singles and Jed Eix at 4-singles also won in straight sets for the Braves.

Charlie Landmark won 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 at 1-singles for Montevideo, which also had Dakota Frazier win another three-set match at 2-singles.

Benson 5, Montevideo 2


(1) Charlie Landmark, M, def. Ben Murphy 6-3, 3-6, 6-3 (2) Dakota Frazier, M, def. Ethan Ratliff-Crain 6-4, 1-6, 6-3 (3) Brandon Edlund, B, def. Bryce Bakklund 6-3, 6-4 (4) Jed Eix, B, def. Jesse Brace 6-0, 7-6 (7-4)


(1) Luke Widseth-Mike Goulet, B, def. Eric Johnson-Rik Danielson 6-1, 6-3 (2) Mads Pajbjerg-Sam Grace, B, def. Shane Griess-Matt Koopmeiners 7-6 (7-4), 7-5 (3) Jake Hanson-Lars Hering, B, def. Tyler West-Jeb Longworth 6-2, 6-0

Non-Conference Becker 5, Litchfield 2

The Bulldogs swept singles to win the season opener at Litchfield.

The Dragons picked up their points at the top of the doubles lineup from Dominic Devine and Nate Adams at No. 1 and Brennan Rosenow and Zach Hedtke at No. 2.


(1) Phil Gudim, Bec, def. Mark Hukriede 6-1, 6-1 (2) Jake Toedter, Bec, def. Jon Magnuson 6-0, 6-2 (3) Brett Hultgren, Bec, def. John Sufka 6-1, 6-1 (4) Dawson Brown, Bec, def. Alec Scofield 6-0, 6-1


(1) Dominic Devine-Nate Adams, Lit, def. Lee McDowall-Tyler Hovde 6-1, 6-2 (2) Brennan Rosenow-Zach Hedtke, Lit, def. Gavin Brown-McKensie Hohlen 6-3, 6-4 (3) Dylan Spaeth-Dan Kydd, Bec, def Sam Zender-Justin Walters 7-5, 6-3

West Central North NL-Spicer 4, Mora 3

New London-Spicer edged Mora in its season and conference opener.

Alex Wiegmann at 1-singles, Cody Treptau at 4-singles, Nic Magnuson-Josh Treptau at 1-doubles and Kole Huiras-Austin Laumb at 3-doubles collected the Wildcats' four victories.


(1) Alex Wiegmann, N, def. Eric Lundberg 6-1, 3-0 (default) (2) Mike Olson, M, def. Seth Nelson 6-3, 6-2 (3) Reid Gunderson, M, def. Spencer Moller 6-4, 6-4 (4) Cody Treptau, N, def. Moritz Krause 2-6, 6-2, 6-2


(1) Nic Magnuson-Josh Treptau, N, def. Quentin VanVleet-Derrick Taylor 7-5, 6-1 (2) Kyle Schultz-Nate Wickland, M, def. Barett Steffen-Elliot Eckhoff 6-4, 4-6, 5-2 (3) Kole Huiras-Austin Laumb, N, def. Ben Coleman-Alex Coleman 6-3, 6-3