Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling: ACGC, Paynesville to meet in 5A semifinals

Trevor Spanier, top, of Paynesville turns over Cain Renner of Eden Valley-Watkins during their 130-pound match Tuesday in Paynesville. Spanier won, 3-1. Tribune photo by T.J.?Bartelt

Top-seeded and unbeaten Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City and No. 4 Paynesville both won their quarterfinal-round matches Tuesday in the Section 5A team tournament to set up a meeting in the semifinals Friday in Grove City.

The Falcons blanked Osakis 76-0 and Paynesville drubbed Eden?Valley-Watkins 60-18. Both semifinal matches start at 6 p.m. Friday with No. 2 Kimball and No. 3 Holdingford squaring off in the other semifinal. The title match will then follow.

Osakis beat Browerville/Eagle Valley 50-18 in the first round.

ACGC upended Paynesville 43-16 on Jan. 21 in Paynesville in an earlier meeting this season.

ACGC 76, Osakis 0

The Falcons had Tyler Berghuis at 103 pounds, Hayden Rouser at 125, Matthew Whitcomb at 130, Matt Lee at 135, Larry Bomstad at 140, Matt Meyer at 145, Ryan Larson at 171, James Nelson at 189 and Dylan Nelson at 215 all pin their opponents during the first period.

Logan Peterson at 119 and Maverick Whitcomb at 152 also had pins for ACGC.

103: Tyler Berghuis, A, pin Trent Coyer :29

112: Robert Rasmussen, A, dec Ryan Engler 11-4

119: Logan Peterson, A, pin Ryan Larson 2:33

125: Hayden Rouser, A, pin Nick Walterstorf :48

130: Matthew Whitcomb, A, pin Austin Rollag 1:31

135: Matt Lee, A, pin Tyler Spanswick 1:02

140: Larry Bomstad, A, pin Austin Collins 1:56

145: Matt Meyer, A, pin Cody Rupert 1:39

152: Maverick Whitcomb, A, pin James Gabrielson 2:39

160: Michael Kramer, A, maj Nikolaj Hagen 10-0

171: Ryan Larson, A, pin Brandon Spanswick :45

189: James Nelson, A, pin Garet Scherr 1:17

215: Dylan Nelson, A, pin Cody Adolphson :57

285: Lucas Damm, A, dec Cody Torkelson 8-4

Paynesville 60, EVW 18

Jordan Karels at 103 pounds, Jacob Mages at 119, Anthony Johnson at 140 and Trey Stanger at 215 notched pins for Paynesville, which also won five matches by forfeit.

103: Jordan Karels, P, pin Hunter Mathies 4:52

112: Jared Kuntsleben, P, won by forfeit

119: Jacob Mages, P, pin Zach Blonigen 5:31

125: Cole Woehler, P, won by forfeit

130: Trevor Spanier, P, dec Cain Renner 3-2

135: Clay Spanier, P, dec Lu ke Kuechle 9-4

140: Anthony Johnson, P, pin Tyler Stafford 2:17

145: Austin Pederson, E, pin Josh Hiepler 5:36

152: Mike Downham, E, pin Jon Dorf 1:32

160: Jacob Forcier, E, pin Caleb Burris 5:28

171: Jon Solum, P, won by forfeit

189: Matt Doom, P, won by forfeit

215: Trey Stanger, P, pin Brandon Walz 2:11

285: Dominick Platow, P, won by forfeit

Holdingford 46, BBE 24

Holdingford had a 40-3 lead before Brandon Roering at 215 pounds capped a 21-0 run for Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa with a first-period pin.

103: Zach Scott, H, pin Josey Tensen 1:03

112: Ross Rath, B, dec Adam Lane 6-1

119: Trevor Scott, H, pin Tyler Tensen 2:40

125: Kyle Gerads, H, dec Austin Jaeger 5-1

130: Tyler Schwartz, H, pin Jordan Lewis 1:10

135: Mike Jarnot, H, pin Alex Schramel 1:53

140: Victor Lumley, H, maj Daniel Rooney 12-4

145: Luke Doll, H, dec Matt Schmitz 6-4

152: Bryce Feia, H, pin Adam Gregory 1:20

160: Patrick Rooney, B, dec Jordan Gombos 5-3

171: Eric Swenson, B, won by forfeit

189: Dillion Knutson, B, won by forfeit

215: Brandon Roering, B, pin Mitch Messman 1:58

285: Bryan Scepaniak, H, pin Matt Peterson 2:35

First Round

BBE 69, LPGE 9

The Jaguars cruised into the quarterfinals after Long Prairie-Grey Eagle forfeited at eight weights and Ross Rath at 112 pounds, Tyler Tenson at 119 and Jordan Lewis at 130 earned pins.

103: Greg Donabauer, L, dec Josey Tensen 4-1

112: Ross Rath, B, pin Miguel Amoriz 1:34

119: Tyler Tensen, B, pin Jorge Botello :55

125: Austin Jaeger, B, won by forfeit

130: Jordan Lewis, B, pin Wade Reece 1:55

135: Alex Schramel, B, won by forfeit

140: Daniel Rooney, B, won by forfeit

145: Matt Schmitz, B, won by forfeit

152: Adam Gregory, B, won by forfeit

160: Patrick Rooney, B, dec Lenard Bennett 9-3

171: Dillion Knutson, B, won by forfeit

189: Eric Swenson, B, won by forfeit

215: Brandon Roering, B, won by forfeit

285: Kody Kunerth, L, pin Matt Peterson 2:23

Howard Lake-WW 39, Minnewaska 33

Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted clinched the win at 215 pounds with a pin.

Minnewaska had Caleb Blaisdell at 112, Jacob Braaten at 119, Gary Steffensen at 125, Patrick?Weaver at 140 and Zach Steffensen at 152 pick up pins.

103: David Cox, pin Spencer Winter 1:46

112: Caleb Blaisdell, M, pin Luke Theisen 2:54

119: Jacob Braaten, M, pin Cory Otto 1:07

125: Gary Steffensen, M, pin Dylan Pelms 1:49

130: Chris Cox, H, dec Ryan Stottler 12-5

135: Rylan Youngren, H, pin Brook Wollschlager 1:53

140: Patrick Weaver, M, pin Jacob Demarais 1:42

145: William Schanus, H, won by forfeit

152: Zach Steffensen, M, pin Josiah Reimer 1:42

160: Double forfeit

171: Jeff Hausladen, H, pin Taylor Lundebrek 1:12

189: Tony Hausladen, H, pin Cory Kittelson :22

215: Matt Markeston, H, pin Micah Klemme 5:21

285: Danny Holtkamp, M, dec Joel Korn 4-2