Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling: Falcons win NLS Invitational

Tribune photo by Rand Middleton New London-Spicer's David Nething fights to gain his freedom from Lee Whitcomb of Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City. Nething won the 152-pound semifinal 3-1.

Tribune Staff Reports

NEW LONDON -- ACGC wrestlers won six championships and the Falcons won the team title at the New London-Spicer Invitational on Friday night.

The Falcons outpointed NLS 260.5 to 238. The Wildcats five championships and BBE won two. Minnetonka won one championship match.

See Monday's Tribune for more results from the invitational.

Team scoring

(1) ACGC 260.5 (2) New London-Spicer 238 (3) Litchfield 141 (4) BBE 129.5 (5) Eden Valley-Watkins 121 (6) Minnetonka 110 (7) Northfield 67 (8) Redwood Valley 42

Individual Champions

106: Jacob Stageberg, NLS pinned Robert Rasmussen, ACGC, 3:32

113: Tyler Berghuis, ACGC, pinned Oden Rogers, NLS, 5:10

120: Tyler Tensen, BBE, dec. Matt Metcalf, Northf., 12-9

126: Hayden Rouser, ACGC, dec. Tyler Jones, Litch, 4-2

132: Chase Austvold, NLS, dec. Carson Canedy, Northfield, 4-0

138: Matt Meyer, ACGC, pinned Andre Sutton, Mtka, 2:41

145: Larry Bomstad, ACGC, maj. dec. Cameron Steffen, NLS, 9-0

152: David Nething, NLS, inj. default Austin Peterson, EVW

160: Dylan Hanson, NLS, maj. dec. Maverick Whitcomb 11-2

170: Patrick Rooney, BBE, dec. Kyle Cappelen 7-0

182: James Nelson, ACGC, dec. Tanner Tobkin, NLS, 9-8

195: Grant Vagle, NLS pinned Lee Borgerding 1:14

220: Jordan Fester, ACGC, dec. Max Kaping, Litch., 8-6

285: Oscar Arteaga, Mtka, pinned Lucas Damm, ACGC, 1:15