Weather Forecast


Prep Wrestling: ACGC in line to return to Section 5A championship

Tribune Staff Reports

GROVE CITY -- The No. 2-seeded Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City Falcons collected nine pins and technical fall en route to posting a 72-4 rout of Eden Valley-Watkins in the Section 5A quarterfinals Tuesday.

ACGC will now face No. 3 Paynesville in the semifinals Friday at 6 p.m. at the Minnewaska Area High School in Glenwood. No. 1 Kimball and No. 5 Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa meet in the other semifinal at 6 p.m. with the two winners meeting at 8 p.m. that same night. Kimball edged ACGC 31-28 in last year's final.

Earning first-period pins for the Falcons was Robert Rasmussen at 106, Tyler Berghuis at 120, Larry Bomstad at 145, Jordan Nelson at 170 and Colin Kragenbring at 220. Hayden Rouser at 126, Logan Peterson at 132 and Maverick Whitcomb at 160 notched falls in the second period, while TJ Hoffman pinned his opponent 25 seconds into the third period at 220.

ACGC 72, EV-Watkins 4

106: Robert Rasmussen, A, pin Tyler Donnay 1:23

113: Derek Dangerud, A, tcfl Hunter Mathies 16-0

120: Tyler Berghuis, A, pin Mitchell Peterson 1:24

126: Hayden Rouser, A, pin Donavin McCann 2:55

132: Logan Peterson, A, pin Nick Faber 3:02

138: Matt Meyer, A, maj Cain Renner 15-4

145: Larry Bomstad, A, pin Luke Kuechle 1:31

152: Austin Peterson, E, maj Jacob Peterson 10-1

160: Maverick Whitcomb, A, pin Brandon McCann 3:20

170: Jordan Nelson, A, pin Lenny Garvick :57

182: Colin Kragenbring, A, pin Shelby Sheldon :46

195: James Nelson, A, won by forfeit

220: TJ Hoffman, A, pin Lyle Miller 4:25

285: Jordan Fester, A, dec Jacob Frank 5-3

Paynesville 54, Browerville/EV 24

Jared Kunstleben at 113, Jacob Mages at 126, Cole Woehler at 132, Clay Spanier at 145, Josh Hiepler at 152, Jon Dorf at 160, Mike Ludwig at 182 and Tanner Harder at 220 all notched pins for Paynesville. The other six Paynesville points came when Browerville/Eagle Valley forfeited at 285.

106: Noah Decker, B, dec Jon Schaeffer 8-1

113: Jared Kunstleben, P, pin Sullivan Decker :31

120: Adam Sutlief, B, pin Damian Viessman 2:21

126: Jacob Mages, P, pin Jackson Wollenberg :34

132: Cole Woehler, P, pin Preston Irsfeld 2:19

138: Taylor Kent, B, pin Andrew Kerzman 1:59

145: Clay Spanier, P, pin Jordan Statema :48

152: Josh Hiepler, P, pin Matthew Schettler :43

160: Jon Dorf, P, pin Avery Kuhnau 1:52

170: Austin Butler, B, dec Caleb Burris 8-6

182: Mike Ludwig, P, pin Andrew Espree :56

195: Nic Bollin, B, pin Derek Ludwig 2:14

220: Tanner Harder, P, pin Jacob Gaida 2:48

285: Dominick Platow, P, won by forfeit

BBE 46, Osakis 28

Pins from Austin Jaeger at 138, Patrick Rooney at 182 and Dillon Knutson at 195, three forfeits, and a major decision from Matt Schmitz at 152 turned a 19-6 deficit into a 40-19 lead for the Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa Jaguars.

Tyler Tensen at 120 also had a pin for the Jaguars.

106: Trenton Coyer, O, dec Josey Tensen 7-0

113: Brandon Coyer, O, maj Colby Schramel 14-1

120: Tyler Tensen, B, pin Rylan Larson 1:32

126: Ryan Engfer, O, won by default over Ross Rath

132: Nick Sunder, O, pin Trustin Zeimer 4:26

138: Austin Jaeger, B, pin Austin Boerst 2:32

145: Daniel Rooney, B, won by forfeit

152: Matt Schmitz, B, maj Austin Rollag 11-1

160: Jordan Lewis, B, won by forfeit

170: Eric Swenson, B, won by forfeit

182: Patrick Rooney, B, pin Peter Hagen 1:09

195: Dillon Knutson, B, pin Cody Adolphson 2:40

220: Garet Sherr, O, pin Lee Borgerding 1:04

285: Derek Carls, O, dec Jared Steffensen 2-0