Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Wildcats fall to Foley in section final

New London-Spicer 138-pounder Chase Austvold controls his opponent, Becker's Boden Lorette, during the Section 6AA semifinals Friday at Litchfield High School. Austvold defeated Lorette 14-0 and the Wildcats won 39-31 over the Bulldogs before falling to Foley 39-14 in the section final. Tribune photo by Tom Larson.

Tribune Staff Report

LITCHFIELD -- New London-Spicer defeated Becker to reach the Section 6AA wrestling finals but fell to an old foe, Foley, in the championship match Friday at Litchfield High School.

Foley defeated the Wildcats 39-14 to earn a state tournament berth.

The Wildcats defeated Becker 39-31 in the semifinals while Foley earned its finals berth with a 67-6 win over Litchfield. Foley won eight of 14 matches by fall and four of those came under one minute.

NLS' Tanner Tobkin won his 100th career match in the semifinals, a 10-1 victory over Becker's Grant Kinck at 182 pounds.

Tobkin also was one of three Wildcats to claim wins against Foley, moving up to 195 pounds to down Class AA's No. 8-ranked Tony Kipka 5-0. Tobkin is now 34-6 this season.

NLS' Ben Henle at 126 pounds and Chase Austvold at 138 pounds also won two matches on Friday.

Henle defeated Foley's Randy Jensen by technical fall, 23-8, and he also downed Becker's Sam Kirchner by technical fall, 22-7. Henle is 13-5 overall.

Austvold won his finals match against Foley Chevy Goble 6-3, and he won a major decision, 14-0 over Becker's Boden Lorette. Austvold is 36-3 this season.


Foley 39, NLS 14

106: Tyler Funk, F, dec. Jakob Stageberg 7-0

113: Tristan Manderfeld, F, tech fall Oden Rodgers 15-0

120: Tyler Jensen, F, dec. Treyton Austvold 9-4

126: Ben Henle, N, tech fall Randy Jensen 23-8

132: Keith Thell, F, dec. Corbin Schwartz 4-2

138: Chase Austvold, N, dec. Chevy Goble 6-3

145: William Sustercich, F, dec. Cameron Steffen 7-2

152: Tyler Benboom, F, pin Jarrett Hatlestad 0:44

160: Taylor Lewandowski, F, maj. dec. David Nething 14-5

170: Dylan Hanson, N, dec. Nick Lefebvre 2-0

182: Tyler Midas, F, dec. Kyle Cappelen 8-4

195: Tanner Tobkin, N, dec. Tony Kipka 5-0

220: Sam Olson, F, dec. Grant Vagle 3-0

285: Cameron Svihla, F, pin Brandon Knisley 3:00


NLS 39, Becker 31

106: Jakob Stageberg, N, tech fall Caleb Vekved 17-2

113: Luke Schmalz, B, pin Oden Rogers 3:49

120: Treyton Austvold, N, pin Cody Ferris 0:46

126: Ben Henle, N, tech fall Sam Kirchner 22-7

132: Corbin Schwartz, N, pin Zach Zimmer 0:33

138: Chase Austvold, N, maj. dec. Boden Lorette 14-0

145: Colton Vekved, B, dec. Cameron Steffen 3-1

152: Cory Nelson, B, pin Jarrett Hatlestad 3:01

160: David Nething, N, dec. Eric Dudek 4-3

170: Dylan Hanson, N, pin Mike Smith 1:22

182: Tanner Tobkin, N, maj. dec. Grant Kinck 10-1

195: Matt Sadlowsky, B, maj. dec. Grant Vagle 9-0

220: Austin Halvorson, B, pin Brandon Knisley 5:58

285: Michael Soule, B, pin Andy McDonnell 3:53

Foley 67, Litchfield 6

106: Tyler Fun, F, pin Derek Fruetel 0:12

113: Tristan Manderfeld, pin Connor Hoff 0:48

120: Tyler Jenseon, F, pin Ryan Anderson 0:18

126: Tyler Jones, L, injury default

132: Carter Nelson, F, pin Kal Volinkaty 0:39

138: Chevy Goble, F, pin Devan Nelson 5:05

145: Will Sustercich, F, mj Corey Pritchett 8-0

152: Teren Kampa, F, tf Jake Kalkbrenner 19-3

160: Taylor Lewandowski, F, mj Austin Jones 13-3

170: Nick Lefebvre, F, dec Derek Celander 8-2

182: Dylan Holly, F, dec Nathan King 5-2

195: Tony Kipka, F, pin Walker Kaping 5:25

220: Sam Olnson, F, Max Kaping 2:44

285: Cameron Svihla, F, won forfeit