Weather Forecast


Prep Athletics: Cardinal award winners announced

Tribune Staff Report

WILLMAR -- The following award recipients were announced Monday evening at the Willmar Cardinals Athletic program.

Lions top athlete award

Recognizing "Good citizenship, talent and desire that puts them with 'The best of the best."

Baylie Young: soccer, hockey, track and field

Alex Johannes: cross-country, wrestling, track and field

Jim Helin

leadership award

Notes a senior boy and girl letterwinner who has "Demonstrated outstanding character and morals, a friendly demeanor and leadership qualities."

Jimmy Unger: basketball, tennis

Addy Nelsen: volleyball, basketball, softball

True Grit Award for perseverance

recognizing "Heart, desire, character and unrecognized contributions to team."

Paige Davis: soccer, hockey.

Aaron Weidemann: swimming and diving, baseball.

Lane Erickson Memorial Scholarships

Dean Stier: football, basketball, baseball

Lindsey Atchison: volleyball, basketball, softball

Dean Anderson Memorial Scholarships

Laura Swartz: volleyball, basketball, softball

Bennet Woltjer: swimming and diving, track and field