Weather Forecast


Local ties up for induction to new prep basketball hall of fame

A committee was recently formed to organize a Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame to seek the public's input, as well as basketball historians, on possible future inductees.

The Hall will recognize Minnesota's outstanding players, coaches, officials, media personnel, and other contributors throughout the boys and girls high school basketball eras. We would like to receive any nominations for the Hall's initial class by July 31.

Minnesota is looking to become only the third state in the country to have a high school basketball Hall of Fame. The others are Indiana and South Dakota.

Below are the nominees, so far, identified by the committee. More nominees are sought.

Fans may submit nominations to Ron Haggstrom at, Kevin Anderson at or Bill Bentson at

Single Class Era



Arlington 1927 10-0

Buffalo 1927-1932

Cromwell 1926-1927

Grand Meadow 1929-1939 -- 94 consecutive wins

Aileen Just, Rapidan 1927-1929 -- Scored 30-32 points per game over 2 years

Litchfield 1927-1932 -- 73 straight wins

Owatonna 1919

Coach Lila Reiersgard, Grand Meadow 1929-1936

Thea Sletkolen, Montevideo 1931-1935



Mpls. Central 1900-1902 -- The 1900 MN Gophers beat Iowa 30-4 and Central 8-7

George Tuck, Mpls. Central 1901


Fosston 1913

Harold Gillen, Stillwater 1914

Fred B. Hill -- Founder, MN State High School Basketball Tournament


Gaylord 1926

Moorhead 1928-1929 -- 1st repeat state champion

Coach Glen Hanna, Moorhead

Martin Norton, Mpls. Central 1921 -- Record 77 points in state tournament stood until 1944

Red Wing 1920-1922


DeLaSalle 1931 -- National Catholic champion

Mpls. Edison 1937 -- 15-1 Regarded as best MN team to date

Ray Moran, Moorhead 1939 -- 1st player to win all-honors

Coach Ray Parkins, Mpls. Edison

Coach Harvey Roels, Chisholm

Marty Rolek, Mpls. Edison 1934

Willie Warhol, Mpls. Edison 1937


Coach Chet Bisel, Lynd

Hal Haskins, Alexandria 1943

Jim Fritsche, St. Paul Humboldt 1949

Coach Joe Hutton, Hamline

Jim McIntyre, Mpls. Patrick Henry 1945

Vern Mikkelson, Askov 1945

Coach Mario Retica, Austin St. Augustine, Buhl, Hibbing

Whitey Skoog, Brainerd 1944


Coach Ove Berven, Austin

Coach Wayne Courtney, Mpls. Roosevelt

Sammie Evenson, Walker 1958

Leroy German, Madelia 1953

Norm Grow, Foley 1958

Hopkins 1952-1953

Ron Johnson, New Prague 1956

Coach Butsie Maetzold, Hopkins

Mpls. Roosevelt 1956-1957

Tom Nordland, Mpls. Roosevelt 1957

Bill Simonovich, Gilbert 1951

Dave Tschimperle, Hopkins 1953


Coach Duane Baglien, Fergus Falls, Edina

Sid Bostic, Pipestone 1960

Bob Bruggers, Danube 1963

Bill Davis, Richfield 1960

Edgerton 1960

Edina 1966-1968

Coach Bun Fortier, Bemidji

LeRoy Gardner, St. Paul Central 1965

Coach Lloyd Holm, Red Wing, Duluth Denfeld, St. Louis Park

Dean Veenhof, Edgerton 1961

Bob Zender, Edina 1968

Two-Class Era



Laura Gardner, Bloomington Jefferson 1978

Janet Karvonen, New York Mills 1980

Joan Kowalsky, Benilde-St. Margaret's 1976

Lisa Lissimore, St. Paul Central 1978

Dorothy McIntyre

St. Paul Central 1976-1979


Annie Adamczak, Moose Lake 1982

Jessica Beachy, Staples 1984

Coach Jerry Cool, Little Falls

Laurie Decker, Rochester Lourdes 1987

Denise Holm, Duluth East 1985

Angela Kuehn, MN State Academy for the Deaf 1985

Kay Konerza, Lester Prairie 1981

Judy McDonald, Chisholm 1984

Mary Jo Miller, Milroy, Tracy-Milroy 1988

Coach Terry Nelson, Austin Pacelli

Kelly Skalicky, Albany 1981

Janice Streit, Eden Valley-Watkins 1984


Coach Myron Glass, Rochester Lourdes

Tracy Henderson, Mpls. Patrick Henry 1993

Mauri Horton, Mpls. North 1999

Coach Terry Hunst, Bloomington Jefferson

Shannon Loeblein, St. Paul Harding 1991

Coco Miller, Rochester Mayo 1997

Kelly Miller, Rochester Mayo 1997

Tamara Moore, Mpls. North 1998

Coach Dave Thorpe, Osseo

Megan Taylor, Roseau 1997



Randy Breuer, Lake City 1979

Pat Foschi, Virginia 1975

Gene Glynn, Waseca 1975

Coach Jim Hastings, Duluth Central

Ronnie Henderson, Mpls. Marshall-U 1976

Steve Lingenfelter, Bloomington Jefferson 1976

Mpls. Marshall-U 1976

Kevin McHale, Hibbing 1976

Mark Olberding, Melrose 1974

Jeff Nessler, St. James 1972

Coach Ed Prohosky, Mpls. Marshall-U


Coach Bob Brink, Rocori

Coach Dan Brink, St. Paul Monroe, Central and Como Park

Coach Jack Evens, Bloomington Jefferson

Andra Griffin, Mpls. Central 1976

Kevin Lynch, Bloomington Jefferson 1987

Coach John Nett, Winona Cotter

Coach Del Schiffler, Melrose, Woodbury

White Bear Lake 1984-1985

Barry Wohler, Bird Island-Lake Lillian 1981


Khalid El-Amin, Mpls. North 1997

Sam Jacobson, Park 1994

Coach Ziggy Kauls, Mounds View

Chad Kolander, Owatonna 1991

Coach Bob McDonald, Chisholm

Joel McDonald, Chisholm 1991

Mpls. North 1995-1997

Wabasso 117, Red Lake 113 (OT) 1997

Four-Class Era

Note: that there is a 10-year waiting period for players and teams, so players and teams from 2002 and before are eligible, those from 2003 and later are not.


Coach Andy Berkvam, Lakeville North

Shannon Bolden, Marshall 2002

Coach Brian Cosgriff, Hopkins

Coach Terry Culhane, Milroy, Tracy-Milroy and Marshall

Coach Mike Dreier, New London-Spicer

Coach Ray Finley, Blake, Breck, Providence

Mia Johnson, Mpls. North

Susan King, Holy Angels 2000

Lakeville 2001-2002

Coach Faith Johnson Patterson, Mpls. North, DeLaSalle

Coach Carol Visness, Kittson Central

Lindsay Whalen, Hutchinson 2000


Coach Larry McKenzie, Mpls. Patrick Henry

Coach Kenny Novak, Jr., Hopkins

Rick Rickert, Duluth East 2001

Southwest MN Christian 1999-2002

Jake Sullivan, Tartan 2000

Coach Dave Thorson, DeLaSalle