Weather Forecast


Prep wrestling roundup: KMS advances to 3A Final Four

KERKHOVEN — Seven pins and a technical fall helped Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg topple Benson 62-15 in the quarterfinals of the Section 3A team tournament Thursday.

The Fighting Saints, given the No. 2 seed in the tournament, will now meet three-time defending section champion No. 3 Minneota in the semifinals Saturday at 1 p.m. at Benson. The other 1 p.m. semifinal will pit No. 1 Wabasso/Red Rock Central and No. 5 Pipestone. The championship is scheduled right after at 2:30 p.m.

Also Thursday, Minneota beat BOLD 49-13, Wabasso/RRC hammered No. 8 Ortonville 75-3 and Pipestone edged No. 4 Canby 29-26.

The dual started with the Fighting Saints, ranked No. 2 in the state, winning the first four weights, including Jordan Engler’s 100th career win at 113 pounds. Engler notched a pin midway through the first period after Caleb Collins logged a pin early in the second period at 106.

Nick Meyer recorded a technical fall at 120 and Benson forfeited at 126 before the Braves got a 9-5 decision from Grant Ascheman at 132 and a 47-second pin at 138 from Ben Lundebrek. But KMS responded by winning the next seven weights with the last five by pin: Jordon Rothers at 160, Karter Van Heuveln at 170, Austin Rothers at 182, Chase Norton at 195 and Jorge Munoz-Pederson at 220.

Kyle Baker of KMS outlasted Bryce Goff 6-5 at 145.

Benson captured the final points of the evening when heavyweight Tyler Jensen picked up a pin.

KMS 62, Benson 15

106: Caleb Collins, K, pin Ethan Lagge 2:40

113: Jordan Engler, K, pin Trenton Abrego 1:28

120: Nick Meyer, K, tcfl Lane Geyer 2:51

126: Cody Peters, K, won by forfeit

132: Grant Ascheman, B, dec Aaron Collins 9-5

138: Ben Lundebrek, B, pin Fred Mansfield :47

145: Kyle Baker, K, dec Bryce Goff 6-5

152: Zach Carlson, K, won by injury default over Mitch Kossman

160: Jordon Rothers, K, pin Cody Hammerschmidt 1:53

170: Karter Van Heuveln, K, pin Matt Wieber 4:33

182: Austin Rothers, K, pin Trevor Berreau 1:26

195: Chase Norton, K, pin Kyle Wrobleski 1:15

220: Jorge Munoz-Pederson, K, pin Dakota Watkins :12

285: Tyler Jensen, B, pin Felix Tapia 1:37

Minneota 49, BOLD 13

The third-seeded Vikings won 10 matches and held No. 6 BOLD to just one bonus point as the Warriors’ four wins were decisions. Minneota collected bonus points at seven weights while the Warriors’ lone bonus win was Manuel Garcia’s 20-7 major decision at 220.

BOLD’s other wins came from Benny Garcia at 126, Ben Steffel at 160 and Alex Hatch at 170.

106: Brock Buysse, M, dec Brady Zitzmann 6-4

113: Eric Hauswedell, M, pin Drew Maher 3:43

120: Landyn VanOverbeke, M, maj Brett Grund 13-2

126: Benny Garcia, B, dec Leo Buysse 4-2

132: Alec Engler, M, pin Zach Malacek 4:28

138: Nicholas Esping, M, pin Devin Garcia 1:20

145: Grant Ascheman, M, pin Derrick Lothert :28

152: Cole Hennen, M, dec Chaz Roush 2-1

160: Ben Steffel, B, dec Justin VanKeulen 2-0

170: Alex Hatch, B, dec Nathan Beultel 10-4

182: Trent Esping, M, dec Martin Minkel 7-6

195: Isaac Josephson, M, pin Joel Erickson 2:29

220: Manuel Garcia, B, maj Jameson Hettling 20-7

285: Doug VanKeulen, M, pin Chris Carnes 1:12