Weather Forecast


Girls basketball: Dahlman named AP Player of Year

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — Rebekah Dahlman is the Associated Press Player of the Year for Minnesota high school girls basketball.

The award was announced on Monday.

Dahlman became the first girls player in state history to score 5,000 points in her career, a mark she reached with a 40-point game in the quarterfinals against the BOLD Warriors last Wednesday.

Dahlman was joined on the AP’s all-state team by fellow seniors Nia Coffey of Hopkins, Jessica January of Richfield and Tyseanna Johnson of DeLaSalle, plus New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva junior Carlie Wagner. Wagner’s Panthers beat Dahlman’s Bombers 60-59 on Saturday in the Class 2A championship game, the first loss of the season for Braham.

Voted to the second team were seniors Allina Starr of DeLaSalle, Jade Martin of Bloomington Kennedy, Tesha Buck of Red Wing and Jessie Mathews of Bethlehem Academy, and sophomore Madison Guebert of Eastview. The third team consisted of seniors Savanna Trapp of Esko, Mikaala Shackleford of Hopkins and Aimee Pelzer of Upsala, and juniors Tia Elbert of Tartan and Chase Coley of Minneapolis Washburn.

Dahlman will play in college next season at Vanderbilt.

Her brother, Isaiah, was the AP Player of the Year for boys basketball in 2005 and 2006.