Weather Forecast


Boys basketball: Apple Valley's Jones, DeLaSalle's Travis named AP's co-player of year

MINNEAPOLIS (AP) — This time, Tyus Jones has to share the honor.

The Apple Valley junior point guard was named Monday the co-winner of the Minnesota Associated Press Player of the Year award for high school boys basketball, with DeLaSalle junior power forward Reid Travis. Jones was the sole recipient his sophomore season.

Both Jones and Travis led their teams to state championships Saturday. Apple Valley won in Class 4A, and DeLaSalle won in Class 3A. Both players are highly regarded national recruits.

Joining Jones and Travis on the AP’s all-state team were Anders Broman of Lakeview Christian Academy in Duluth, Rashad Vaughn of Robbinsdale Cooper and Graham Woodward of Edina. Vaughn is also part of the state’s heralded junior class. Broman became the state’s all-time leading scorer this season with 5,119 points.

Making the second team were seniors Joe Aase of Austin, Quinton Hooker of Park Center and Renard Suggs of Woodbury, junior J.P. Macura of Lakeville North and sophomore Alex Illikainen of Grand Rapids.

The third team is composed of all seniors; Riley Dearring of Minnetonka, Mack Johnson of Roseville, Scott Litchy of Albany, Ben Oberfeld of Eastview and Quashingm Smith-Pugh of St. Paul Johnson.